you're reading...

Englehart Triumphs In Oschersleben

M14_1327The close competition in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland was underlined at Oschersleben. Christian Engelhart’s (D/Konrad Motorsport) win ahead of Jaap van Lagen (NL/Aust Motorsport) and Michael Ammermüller (D/QPOD Walter Lechner Racing) at race four makes him the fourth victor from four races so far this season. In Hockenheim, victories went to Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) and Earl Bamber (NZ/Team 75 Bernhard), in Oschersleben Christopher Zöchling (A/Konrad Motorsport) and Engelhart. “We’re all very close together this year, and that makes this win all the more wonderful. The race was a combination of fun and fear for me. Van Lagen put me under a great deal of pressure, but luckily I held my position,” said the Bavarian after receiving his trophy.

The race on Sunday morning was contested under difficult conditions. After overnight rain the track was still damp in many places and this proved problematic for many drivers. Ammermüller, who had taken off from pole position, was overtaken by Nicki Thiim (DK/QPOD Walter Lechner Racing) directly after the start, only to have Thiim slip from the wet track into the gravel in corner one and fail to reach the finish line. After getting off the line well, Engelhart profited from the mistake and settled in at the front of the field where he only had van Lagen to deal with to the flag. Van Lagen was thrilled with his result: “A great race with complicated track conditions – really wet, sometimes damp and dry in parts. Then rain set in and I drove faster than Christian, but unfortunately I didn’t manage to get past him.”

Porsche junior Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport) occupied fourth place, with Porsche Scholarship driver Earl Bamber finishing in fifth and Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing powered by Häring) in sixth. “It was a successful day for me. The circuit conditions changed constantly and I was able to adapt well to them. Now I’m leading the classification,” outlined de Phillippi. “I touched another vehicle in the second lap which made my car more difficult to drive. Under these circumstances my result is good,” said Bamber. Riberas also seemed pleased: “I started from eighth on the grid and finished in sixth. That earns me vital points and the result is okay.” At times Porsche junior Sven Müller was running in fifth, but after hitting a kerb too hard he fell back to position 29. Müller eventually saw the flag in 24th. “Good start, bad finish is how I sum it all up. The most important thing though is that the car is running well. I’m feeling good about the next race,” said Müller.

In the overall classification Porsche junior de Phillippi leads after four of 18 races with 53 points ahead of Engelhart and Zöchling (both 51 points). Sven Müller heads the rookie classification with 27 points. In the B-classification, Rolf Ineichen (CH/Konrad Motorsport) sits at the top of the standings.

Races five and six of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland are contested from 30 May to 1 June on the Hungaroring near Budapest. The circuit there is 4.381 kilometres long and regarded as very narrow. “This makes the qualifying on the Hungaroring critical. Overtaking in the race will certainly pose a challenge,” says Porsche junior coach Sascha Maassen.

Result race 4:
1. Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport)
2. Jaap van Lagen (NL/Aust Motorsport)
3. Michael Ammermüller (D/QPOD Walter Lechner Racing)
4. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport)
5. Earl Bamber (NZ/Team 75 Bernhard)

Points standings after 4 of 18 races:
Driver classification
1. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport), 53 points
2. Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport), 51
3. Christopher Zöchling (A/Konrad Motorsport), 51
4. Earl Bamber (NZ/Team 75 Bernhard), 48
5. Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing powered by Häring), 46

Amateur classification
1. Rolf Ineichen (CH/Konrad Motorsport), 72 points
2. Ralf Bohn (D/Team GT3 Kasko), 66
3. Wolf Nathan (NL/Land-Motorsport), 62

Rookie classification
1. Sven Müller (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 27 points
2. Lukas Schreier (D/ZaWotec Racing), 3
3. Michelle Gatting (DK/Attempto Racing powered by Häring), 1

Team classification
1. Konrad Motorsport, 102
2. Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport, 91
3. Team Deutsche Post by Project 1, 71

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: