you're reading...

Herberth Motorsport leads first ever 24H COTA USA at halfway point

The Herberth Motorsport Porsche 991 GT3 R (#911, Daniel Allemann / Ralf Bohn / Robert Renauer / Alfred Renauer) currently leads the inaugural Hankook 24H COTA USA. The German team is one lap ahead of its closest rival, the Black Falcon Mercedes-AMG GT3 (#3, Ben Keating / Jeroen Bleekemolen / Abdulaziz Al Faisal / Luca Stolz) having spent most of the opening 14 hours on the same lap. Further back, the ROFGO Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 (#31, Roald Goethe / Stuart Hall / Jamie Campbell-Walter / Nicolas Minassian) finished 3rd on the road, but will forfeit its position in-class with an overnight gearbox change. The Manthey Racing Porsche 991 GT3 R (#13, Steve Smith / Randy Walls / Hari Proczyk / Dennis Olsen) will step up to round out both the overall and A6-Pro top three.

The Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS (#34, Johannes Dr. Kirchhoff / Gustav Edelhoff / Elmar Grimm / Ingo Vogler / Max Edelhoff) tops the A6-Am standings having pulled a 10-lap advantage over the V8 Racing Chevrolet Corvette C6-ZR1 (#18, Luc Braams / Duncan Huisman / Alex van t’Hoff / Rick Abresch / Nicolas Vandierendonck). The Leipert Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo (#10, Harald Schlotter / Aleksander Schjerpen / John-Louis Jasper / Vic Rice / Niels Lagrange) is currently 3rd in-class.

In a shock moment, the reigning 24H SERIES champions have retired from the race, heavy collision damage for the Hofor-Racing powered by Car Collection Mercedes-AMG GT3 (#1, Michael Kroll / Chantal Kroll / Kenneth Heyer / Christiaan Frankenhout / Jörg Viebahn) eliminating the team from the race.

The PROsport Performance Porsche 991 Cup (#85, Charles Putman / Charles Espenlaub / Joe Foster) has taken a decisive lead in both the 991 Class and the Championship of the Continents at the Circuit of the Americas. Also competing on home turf, the Freem USA Porsche 991-II Cup (#50, Danny Stutterd / Sam Fillmore / Stephen Grove) lies 2nd in-class ahead of the Slidesports Pallex Porsche 991 Cup (#47, Dave Fairbrother / Nigel Armstrong / Graeme Mundy / Colin Paton).

The MARC Cars Australia MARC Mazda V8 (#210, Jake Camilleri / Keith Kassulke / Morgan Haber / Hadrian Morrall) leads the way in SP2. Five laps further back is the sister entry (#214, Malcolm Niall / Clint Harvey / Brett Niall / Robert Thomson), while the VDS Racing Adventures MARC Focus V8 (#58, Raphaël van der Straten /

Thierry de Latre du Bosqueau /Joël Vanloocke / Tom van Rompuy / José Close) completes an all-MARC top three in-class.

The Brookspeed International Motorsport Porsche Cayman GT4 MR (#41, Freddie Hunt / David Pattison / Alan Metni / Joseph Toussaint) currently leads the SP3 standings, despite a heavy collision in qualifying. After suffering a broken wishbone, the Aston Martin Lagonda Vantage GT8 (#232, Andy Palmer / Peter Cate / Paul Hollywood / John Hindhaugh) is 2nd in-class while the JR Motorsport BMW E90 (#118, Ward Sluys / Pieter van Soelen / Ted van Vliet / Marco Poland) lies 12 laps behind after recovering from mechanical woes.

CUP1 is led by the Classic BMW M235i Racing Cup (#158, Mike Vess / Jason Hart / Matt Travis / John Capesstro-Dubets / Max Fedler). Mechanical woes for the QSR Racingschool BMW M235i Racing Cup (#161, Rodrigue Gillion / Emilie Liljeström / Mckay Snow / Tommy Graberg / John Mauro) leave the Belgian team just ahead of the Sorg Rennsport BMW M235i Racing Cup (#151, Alexander W. Wetzlich / Simon Tibbett / Benito Tagle / Ray Mason / Quinten Nelson).

The Team Altran Peugeot 308 Racing Cup (#308, Guillaume Roman / Gonzalo Martin de Andres / Thierry Blaise / Marc Guillot) leads the TCR class. The reigning Touring Car champions heads the sister Peugeot 308 Racing Cup (#908, Stéphane Ventaja / Thierry Boyer / Michel Derue / François Riaux) and the NKPP Racing by Bas Koeten Racing SEAT Leon TCR (#125, Gijs Bessem / Harry Hilders / Rob Rappange / Willem Meijer).

Having started from category pole position, the Team Eva Solo / Jönsson Consulting Peugeot RCZ (#171, Jan Engelbrecht / Thomas Sørensen / Henrik Sørensen / Claus Bertelsen / Søren Jønsson) now leads the A2 standings. The newly crowned A2 class champions have pulled a gap to the THRW Honda Racing Honda Civic Si (#183, Douglas Chan / Jeremy Lucas / Scott Nicol / Ryan Eversley) and the sister #184 entry (Calvin Tam / Michael Tsay / Lawrence Hwang / Derek Ferretti), both of which are competing on home soil.

Overnight, cars will be kept under parc fermé conditions.

Source. Creventic/Photo. Petr Frýba and Boost Racing Images


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: