you're reading...

The Works: Porsche Factory, Young Professionals and Select Contend at Daytona

Nine Porsche “works” drivers, two Young Professionals and a Porsche Select driver will be in action for Porsche at the 56th Running of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on January 27 – 28. Six of the “works” drivers will be allocated to run the pair of Porsche 911 RSRs for the factory effort known as the Porsche GT Team. Three of the factory aces, the two Young Professionals and a Porsche Select will run for customer programs in the GTD class.

Driving duties in the No. 911 Porsche GT Team 911 RSR will be shared by 2017 Tequila Patrón North American Endurance GTLM Drivers Champion Patrick Pilet (France), 24 Hours of Le Mans overall winner Nick Tandy (Great Britain) and Frédéric Makowiecki (France). Two-time Le Mans overall winner and reigning LMP1 World Champion Earl Bamber (New Zealand), Laurens Vanthoor (Belgium) and Gianmaria Bruni (Italy) will alternate at the wheel of the Porsche GT Team’s number 912 car.

Porsche will also provide a number of drivers to support customer teams, as they take on the challenge of Daytona armed with the 911 GT3 R. Patrick Long (Manhattan Beach, California), Young Professional Mathieu Jaminet (France) and Porsche Select Driver Christina Nielsen (Denmark) will drive for Wright Motorsports in the No. 58 alongside 2016 Porsche Cup winner Robert Renauer (Germany). Sven Müller (Germany) and Young Professional Matteo Cairoli (Italy) will be in action at the wheel of the No. 59 Manthey Racing car with privateers Steve Smith (Germany), Randy Wallis (Germany) and Harald Proczyk (Austria). Factory ace Jörg Bergmeister (Germany) reprises his regular role with Patrick Lindsey (Santa Barbara, California), Timothy Pappas (Boston, Massachusetts) and Norbert Siedler (Austria) in the No. 73 Park Place Motorsports machine.

Across these 12 drivers there are six Rolex 24 Hour wins. Bergmeister has three victories in the race with an overall title in 2003 and class honors in 2002 and 2009. Pilet (2014), Tandy (2014) and Long (2009) each have one victory in the race. Makowiecki has two podium results (third-place in 2016 and second in 2017). Bamber eared a third-place finish in 2016 with “Mako”.

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: