you're reading...

Porsche Carrera Cup Australia Saturday success for Wood and Grove at Albert Park

Dale Wood has continued his Albert Park dominance in Saturday’s race three with his third victory of the event, while reigning TAG Heuer Pro-Am champion Stephen Grove claimed his first class win of the season.

The race started in unusual conditions when the circuit’s starting lights failed, forcing the race to start behind the safety car. After the first lap, the safety car exited the circuit and Wood headed the field into turn one.

Much like the first two Porsche races at Albert Park, Wood led the charge with Evans closely behind, and despite several challenges for the lead by Evans, the former Supercars driver retained composure and raced to his fourth win of his short Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia career.

Wood will now aim to become just the fourth driver to claim victory in all Albert Park races following the previous clean sweeps of Alex Davison (2003), Jim Richards (2005) and Craig Baird (2012).

“That was a hard race. I could not shake Jaxon and even the tiniest mistake means he’s all over you. It was a tough race, but a good one. It’s a confidence booster but we can’t get complacent. I’m absolutely loving it,” said Wood.

Evans once again finished a narrow second in race three, with Alex Davison continuing his comeback from a race one post-race penalty to place third by the chequered flag, impressively navigating his way past fellow Pro racers to lead home a four car battle pack also consisting of Michael Almond, Jordan Love and Nick McBride, who finished sixth after starting ninth on the grid.

Dylan O’Keeffe placed seventh from James Moffat, who came together with his teammate David Wall on the final corner of lap three, resulting in the Wall Racing duo spinning and subsequently dropping down the order. Moffat recovered to finished eighth, while Wall ultimately placed 14th.

Stephen Grove’s fortunes changed dramatically from earlier in the weekend with victory in the competitive TAG Heuer Pro-Am.

After Grove failed to finish race one, a strong performance in race two and an equally impressive showing in race three elevated Grove to the head of the Pro-Am field at the race three finish.

The result was Grove’s maiden 2018 victory and his first class win since the opening race of the 2017 Gold Coast season finale.

“With the calibre of drivers that we have in Pro-Am now, a win is something special. The wins don’t just come, you have to work really hard. In that race I pushed from fifth and I worked hard and passed everyone cleanly; everyone gave racing room and that’s a real credit to all the boys I was racing with. To win in this category now is hard and to get the win is great. It will build momentum from here.”

Race two Pro-Am winner Tim Miles placed second in class from Dean Cook, Greg Taylor and Max Twigg. Sam Shahin was sixth in the TAG Heuer Pro-Am from race one and race two class winner Roger Lago.

Race Schedule (local time)
Sunday March 25, 2018
1:05pm – Race 4 (10 laps)

Results: Race 3
1. #100 Dale Wood (Pro) 10 laps, 21:40.1651
2. #7 Jaxon Evans (Pro) 10 laps, 21:41.4446
3. #888 Alex Davison (Pro) 10 laps, 21:46.0128
4. #77 Michael Almond (Pro) 10 laps, 21:46.0280
5. #777 Jordan Love (Pro) 10 laps, 21:46.5241
6. #8 Nick McBride (Pro) 10 laps, 21:47.1380
7. #88 Dylan O’Keeffe (Pro) 10 laps, 21:47.2747
8. #18 James Moffat (Pro) 10 laps, 22:02.6732
9. #15 Josh Hunt (Pro) 10 laps, 22:04.6951
10. #12 Adam Garwood (Pro) 10 laps, 22:07.1319
11. #14 Peter Major (Pro) 10 laps, 22:07.8418
12. #4 Stephen Grove (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:10.6368
13. #6 Tim Miles (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:11.8649
14. #1 David Wall (Pro) 10 laps, 22:15.9960
15. #22 Dean Cook (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:16.5119
16. #5 Greg Taylor (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:19.0439
17. #80 Max Twigg (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:28.3776
18. #13 Sam Shahin (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:30.1417
19. #23 Roger Lago (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:40.7615
20. #9 Marc Cini (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:45.9512
21. #35 Indiran Padayachee (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 22:46.4089
22. #131 Graham Williams (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 10 laps, 23:22.1608
DNF #19 Anthony Gilbertson (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 3 laps, 8:28.0144
DNF #20 Adrian Flack (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 2 laps, 5:48.8643

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: