you're reading...

Wall and Flack claim Porsche Carrera Cup Australia race one honours at Hidden Valley

Reigning Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia champion David Wall has secured his first victory of 2018 in race one at Hidden Valley Raceway, while an impressive performance by Adrian Flack saw the series rookie claim his maiden TAG Heuer Pro-Am win.

Wall secured TAG Heuer Pole Position earlier on Saturday with a new qualifying lap record before leading into the opening corner of race one. Wall was unchallenged thereafter to eventually claim a one-second victory over series leader Jaxon Evans, while also posting a new race lap record.

While Wall has placed inside the top four in seven of the season’s nine races, the Darwin win was the Sydneysider’s first since race one at Bathurst last season.

“It’s good to get our first race win in the new car, which is slightly different to set up and drive to the previous version GT3 Cup car. I’m finally getting my head around it a little bit,” said Wall.

“Overall we’ve ticked a lot of boxes and I’m really happy with the weekend so far. Today was good; we’ll now see what tomorrow brings.”

Dylan O’Keeffe survived opening lap attacks to work his way back to third place by the chequered flag from James Moffat, who progressed to fourth from seventh on the grid following a four-place grid penalty for a qualifying infringement.

Dale Wood dropped several positions as the race progressed after an inspired opening segment of the race. Cameron Hill qualified a career-high third place though dropped to sixth by the finish, while Nick McBride started second but struggled with locked tyres under braking to ultimately finish seventh.

TAG Heuer Pro-Am reigning champion Stephen Grove was the quickest Pro-Am driver in qualifying, while Adrian Flack joined Grove at the front of the class in race one.

Grove led the class until lap 13, when Flack moved to the lead and eventually took his maiden Pro-Am victory in his rookie Carrera Cup season.

“It’s really the first time this year that we’ve had a good car underneath us. We did some testing a week ago and went through the processes. We’ve got our heads around it now and the boys did a great job to get the car to where it is now, which is just a beautiful race car,” said Flack.

“I started racing in Porsches years ago in GTs with my younger brother. It’s just a matter of getting back into it and learning about this car and how it works. I think we’re starting to get there now so hopefully we’ll be a lot more competitive for the rest of the year.”

Grove placed second in the TAG Heuer Pro-Am ahead of class points leader Roger Lago, Tim Miles and Anthony Gilbertson, who recovered after a qualifying accident which saw him crash moments after setting the quickest time in the opening sector late in the session.

Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia has two races remaining for round four in Darwin. The 18-lap race two will be held at 8:45am (local time) on Sunday morning before the third Endurance Cup race of the season is held at midday.

Race Schedule (local time)
Sunday June 17, 2018
8:45am Race 2 (18 laps)
12:00pm Race 3 (35 laps)

Results: Race 1
1. #1 David Wall (Pro) 18 laps, 20:39.2966
2. #7 Jaxon Evans (Pro) 18 laps, 20:40.3819
3. #88 Dylan O’Keeffe (Pro) 18 laps, 20:41.3048
4. #18 James Moffat (Pro) 18 laps, 20:45.1123
5. #100 Dale Wood (Pro) 18 laps, 20:45.6491
6. #111 Cameron Hill (Pro) 18 laps, 20:48.0501
7. #8 Nick McBride (Pro) 18 laps, 20:49.6177
8. #777 Jordan Love (Pro) 18 laps, 20:51.5725
9. #20 Adrian Flack (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 20:52.6462
10. #77 Michael Almond (Pro) 18 laps, 20:53.6420
11. #4 Stephen Grove (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 20:55.1918
12. #888 Glen Wood (Pro) 18 laps, 20:55.4159
13. #23 Roger Lago (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 21:00.3541
14. #6 Tim Miles (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 21:02.0261
15. #19 Anthony Gilbertson (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 21:03.3501
16. #15 Josh Hunt (Pro) 18 laps, 21:04.3801
17. #12 Adam Garwood (Pro) 18 laps, 21:06.1771
18. #14 Peter Major (Pro) 18 laps, 21:07.9925
19. #808 John Steffensen (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 21:09.6792
20. #22 Dean Cook (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 21:16.5910
21. #131 Graham Williams (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) 18 laps, 21:45.3220
DNF #5 Greg Taylor (TAG Heuer Pro-Am)
DNF #9 Marc Cini (TAG Heuer Pro-Am)

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: