you're reading...

Porsche Carrera Cup Australia victories cap thrilling Sydney Joint Round

Maiden race and round winners, thrilling racing and two epic multi-series battles have highlighted a spectacular Sydney Motorsport Park round for Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia.

The Porsche championship was joined at the Western Sydney venue by Porsche Carrera Cup Asia, both series holding their own championship battles before finishing the event with a Joint Pro-Am Race and Joint Pro Race.

Carrera Cup Australia, Race 1
Young gun Dylan O’Keeffe claimed his maiden Carrera Cup victory in Saturday morning’s opening race of the Sydney Motorsport Park round.

In his 21st Carrera Cup round start, O’Keeffe qualified second and charged to the race one lead after pole-sitter David Wall was slow from the start line.

The Melbourne based driver then continued at the front to ultimately take the chequered flag and, in the process, eclipsing Steven Richards’ 2014 Sydney Motorsport Park lap record.

James Moffat placed second from Jaxon Evans, Jordan Love and Wall in fifth, who limped across the finish line following last lap contact with Dale Wood, which ended the latter’s race.

Adrian Flack was the TAG Heuer Pro-Am race winner, cruising past Roger Lago mid-race into turn one before pulling away from his class rivals. Lago placed second from Stephen Grove, Anthony Gilbertson and Tim Miles.

Carrera Cup Australia, Race 2
Jordan Love became Saturday’s second first-time Carrera Cup race winner while Stephen Grove returned to the top of the TAG Heuer Pro-Am.

Starting fourth on the grid, Love executed a flawless start and moved from third to first in a move around the outside of Sydney’s turn one.

While initially pulling away, Love was ultimately chased down by James Moffat while race one winner O’Keeffe and Wall eventually joined the battle.

The quartet bunched together in the closing laps though the order remained the same, handing Love his first Carrera Cup race win in his debut full-time season.

Grove was the best of the TAG Heuer Pro-Am drivers, beating Adrian Flack, Anthony Gilbertson and Tim Miles to the chequered flag.

Round results
Two second place finishes handed Moffat his first round win since the 2008 Carrera Cup season, standing on top of the Pro podium from second placed O’Keeffe and race two winner Love.

“It’s always good to pick up a round win. I was pushing pretty hard for the win in both races, but second in both races was obviously enough to win the round,” said Moffat.

“It’s taken a little longer than I would have liked this year to get the round win, but I feel like we’re finally building a bit of momentum and some confidence in the car.”

Meanwhile Adrian Flack claimed his maiden TAG Heuer Pro-Am round win after a first and second place result. Flack was flanked on the Pro-Am podium by second placed Stephen Grove and Anthony Gilbertson in third.

“This is absolutely sensational. We got the monkey off our back as Darwin was the one that got away. I think we’re starting to get on top of it and my performances have become pretty consistent,” said Flack.

“Sydney has always been one of my favourite tracks. I haven’t been here in a couple of years but every time I come here I seem to do pretty well.”

Joint Pro-Am Race
Roger Lago lined up on pole position for the Joint Pro-Am Race due to his pace-setting efforts in Carrera Cup Australia qualifying on Friday. Lago was the best off the line and immediately took a commanding lead in the 16-lap race. Meanwhile Adrian Flack was in his own battle for second place, ultimately passing Carrera Cup Asia rival Jinlong Bao for second. The race was interrupted for two separate safety car periods, however Lago kept a cool head in both to ultimately take the chequered flag from Flack and Jinlong Bao.

Joint Pro Race
Dylan O’Keeffe was untouchable in the Joint Pro Race, claiming the lead at the start from fourth on the grid and pulled away from his Australia and Asia series rivals, managing the gap to the battle behind him to the finish. Will Bamber and Martin Ragginger battled for second before David Wall entered the mix. Bamber held second position for the majority of the race until Wall stole the position with a bold turn one move with one lap remaining. Wall place second from Bamber, Ragginger, Jaxon Evans and Dale Wood.

Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia will return to the track on August 24-26 for the sixth round of the 2018 season, to be held for the first time at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: