you're reading...

Van Lagen wins Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland home race, Preining extends series lead

At round ten of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland, Jaap van Lagen (Förch Racing) used his home advantage: On Sunday, the Dutch race driver achieved a lights-to-flag victory at the Zandvoort Circuit. “It feels fantastic to win my home race. Since I didn’t have a vehicle in front of me for orientation on the wet track, I was always a little too early on the brakes in the beginning. It was important to accelerate out of the corners quickly and that’s exactly what I did,” said van Lagen. After his victory on Saturday, Porsche Junior Thomas Preining (BWT Lechner Racing) claimed second place. This allowed the Austrian to extend his lead in the championship by ten points over Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing). Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) took the flag in third. 

The 29-strong fleet of vehicles drove out onto the racetrack at the Dutch North Sea coast in drizzle and a temperature of 19 degrees Celsius. Still, all 485-hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup cars took up the race on slicks. When the lights went out, Van Lagen took the lead. Preining, who had started from second, immediately tucked in behind him. The pair treated fans to a close duel for the lead. Just as van Lagen was able to pull clear slightly the safety car was deployed in lap five so that a vehicle could be salvaged. After the restart, the 20-year-old immediately put the Förch driver under pressure however van Lagen fended him off and reached the chequered flag in first place after 16 laps. This marked the second win of this year’s Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland for the driver from the Dutch town of Ede. Preining finished on second place, 0.3 seconds behind the leader. “Not all sections of the track were completely wet. The conditions were tricky. I was right on Jaap van Lagen’s bumper, but towards the end of the race I didn’t want to take any unnecessary risks and endanger the championship. I managed to extend my advantage this weekend and that’s the main thing,” said Preining.

Ten Voorde also had reason to celebrate: For the fourth time this season, the youngster from Boekelo (Netherlands) crossed the finish line in third place. In lap nine while running in fourth, the 21-year-old made the decisive move and swept past Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing). “My main goal was the podium. During the safety car phase I planned very carefully how I was going to overtake Dylan Pereira. It worked brilliantly,” said ten Voorde. 21-year-old Pereira reached the flag on the coastal circuit in fourth, making him the best rookie of the day. Fifth place went to Henric Skoog (Raceunion). The Swede had started from tenth on the grid and managed to make up five places during the race.

Thirty-two-year-old Ammermüller scored position six ahead of Igor Walilko (Raceunion) from Poland. Eighth place on the 4.307-kilometre race track was occupied by Germany’s Tim Zimmermann from the Black Falcon Team TMD Friction squad. His teammate Carlos Rivas was classified as the best driver in the amateur class. The race driver from Luxembourg relegated Stefan Rehkopf (D/Cito Pretiosa) to second place. The third step on the amateur podium was taken by Andreas Sczepansky (D/QA Racing by Kurt Ecke).

In the championship, Preining has pulled clear from his rivals: With six wins and 179 points the racer from Linz ranks first ahead of Ammermüller. After ten races, the German driver sits second with 169 points. Ten Voorde follows on third place with 122 points. The leader of the rookie class is Pereira. The 21-year-old has 159 points to his credit. In the amateur classification, Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa) ranks first with 183 points.

For rounds eleven and twelve, the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland travels to the Sachsenring from 7 to 9 September. Toni Wolf (D/Car Collection Motorsport) will race in front of home crowds at the circuit in Hohenstein-Ernstthal. The 19-year-old comes from Schönbrunn in the Erzgebirgskreis, a district in Saxony.

Result race 10:
1. Jaap van Lagen (NL/Förch Racing)
2. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing)
3. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
4. Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing)
5. Henric Skoog (S/Raceunion)
6. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
7. Igor Walilko (PL/Raceunion)
8. Tim Zimmermann (D/Black Falcon Team TMD Friction)
9. Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing)
10. Glenn van Parijs (B/MRS GT-Racing)

Points standings after 10 of 14 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing), 179 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 169 points
3. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 122 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: