you're reading...

Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland win for Larry ten Voorde at Monza

The fight for the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland title remains gripping: Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite) celebrated his third win of the season at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Saturday and thus moves to the top of the rankings. “I was able to win the last two races here in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup and that gave me a lot of confidence. At the start, I beat Laurin Heinrich in the sprint to the first tight chicane, and that proved decisive,” said ten Voorde. At round seven held as part of the support programme to the DTM, Laurin Heinrich (Germany/Van Berghe Huber Racing) and Porsche Junior Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing) also planted their 510 PS Porsche 911 GT3 Cup cars on the podium. Carlos Rivas (Black Falcon Team Textar) joined the list of record-holders in the German Carrera Cup. Over the years of contesting the one-make cup, Saturday’s victory marks the 35th for the Luxembourger in the ProAm class. With this result, Rivas eclipses the former ProAm record-holder, Rolf Ineichen (Switzerland).

The last time the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland was contested in Monza was in 1991 – at its comeback after 30 years, ten Voorde took up the race from the front of the field. The polesitter defended his lead and immediately pulled clear of his rivals. Thanks to his commanding performance, the GP Elite driver took the flag after 17 laps with a 1.2-second lead over Heinrich. Heinrich, a driver from the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland Talent Pool, swept past Güven at the start and secured position two. “I quickly found a good rhythm, however at the beginning, I often had to glance in the rear-view mirror. Larry ten Voorde grabbed the chance to eke out an advantage,” explained Heinrich.

Güven experienced an eventful race: After Heinrich overtook the Phoenix Racing driver, the 23-year-old initially lost another position to Leon Köhler (Germany/Nebulus Racing by Huber) after the safety car phase. Güven, however, stuck to the German’s bumper, made his countermove during the following lap, and took the flag in third place ahead of Köhler. “Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to get the tyres up to the optimal working temperature before the restart. It was critical to get past Leon Köhler again immediately afterwards,” said Güven. As the best rookie, Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon Team Textar) scored fifth place.

Max van Splunteren (GP Elite) achieved sixth place on the storied 5.793-kilometre circuit northwest of Milan. The Dutchman was followed over the line by his two compatriots Rudy van Buren (CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin) and Morris Schuring (Team GP Elite). The Black Falcon Team Textar squad had good reason to celebrate: Thanks to his total of 35 wins in the ProAm class, Carlos Rivas is now the most successful ProAm driver in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. In Monza, the driver from the Luxembourg town of Bereldingen secured his seventh class win of the season ahead of Georgi Donchev (Bulgaria/Nebulus Racing by Huber) and Kim Hauschild (Germany/HRT Motorsport). “My greatest goal was to conclude the race as successfully as possible. Obviously, my mind was on the record over the last few laps and I’m absolutely thrilled about it,” said Rivas.

With 141 points, ten Voorde leads the overall standings after his third win so far this season. Heinrich follows in second place just two points behind. Third place is occupied by Güven with 110 points. On Sunday, a special event awaits teams and drivers: the German Carrera Cup celebrated its anniversary and is holding the 350th race. Round eight of the season gets underway at 4.15pm local and is broadcast live on the German free-TV channel Sport1.

Result race 7, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland
1. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
2. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/Van Berghe Huber Racing)
3. Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing)
4. Leon Köhler (Germany/Nebulus Racing by Huber)
5. Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon Team Textar)
6. Max van Splunteren (Netherlands/GP Elite)
7. Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin)
8. Morris Schuring (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
9. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing)
10. Christopher Zöchling (Austria/Fach Auto Tech)

Points standings after 7 of 16 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 141 points
2. Laurin Heinrich (Deutschland/Van Berghe Huber Racing), 139 points
3. Ayhancan Güven (Türkei/Phoenix Racing), 110 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: