you're reading...

Fifth victory of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season for Larry ten Voorde

Larry ten Voorde (Team GP Elite) has made a perfect start into the second half of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season: At the Circuit Zandvoort, the Dutchman celebrated a win on home turf and extended his championship lead. “I might have been a bit too keen at the start and that allowed Rudy van Buren overtake me. He drove a great race, but I kept my cool, waited for him to make a mistake and was rewarded for it. It’s my first win here at Zandvoort. What a fantastic feeling!” said ten Voorde. At round nine of the season run as part of the ADAC Masters support programme, Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin) secured second place on Saturday ahead of Porsche Junior Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing).

Spectators in the grandstands witnessed an action-packed race with two safety car phases and many battles for positions. The two Dutch drivers, ten Voorde and van Buren, locked out the first grid row. Van Buren made the best use of his 510 PS Porsche 911 GT3 Cup to sweep past ten Voorde in the first corner. Competing for CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin, he fiercely defended his lead against ten Voorde for the first twelve laps. The current points’ leader then used a braking error in the Hugenholtzbocht – one of the two new banked turns on the modified Formula 1 racetrack. After 17 laps, ten Voorde took the flag ahead of van Buren. “When you’re leading for so many laps, you obviously want to win. Still, it’s a great result. This is my second podium in a row after finishing second at Monza,” concluded van Buren.

Güven crossed the finish line in third place. “Larry ten Voorde and Rudy van Buren defended themselves cleverly, so I couldn’t score a better result. I start Sunday’s race from pole position and I’ll do my utmost to win,” said the Phoenix Racing driver. Fourth place went to Leon Köhler (Germany/Nebulus Racing by Huber) followed by Max van Splunteren (Netherlands/GP Elite) and the best rookie Morris Schuring (Netherlands/Team GP Elite). Julian Hanses (Germany/HRT Performance) reached the finish line on the 4.259-kilometre racetrack in seventh place, with eighth place occupied by Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon Team Textar). Simone Iaquinta (Italy) took position nine. The current champion of the Porsche Carrera Cup Italia tackles this weekend’s event in the Netherlands as a guest driver for Dinamic Motorsport.

In the ProAm class, Kim Hauschild (Germany) celebrated his first victory. The HRT Motorsport driver beat Carlos Rivas (Luxembourg/Black Falcon Team Textar) and Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/Phoenix Racing) over the line. Nine drivers from the Netherlands contest this weekend’s races at Zandvoort: Alongside ten Voorde, van Buren, van Splunteren, Schuring and Hartog, Daan and Jesse van Kuijk, Lucas Groeneveld (all three driving for GP Elite) and Jaap van Lagen (HRT Motorsport) compete in front of home crowds. The GP Elite squad has a short journey to the track: The crew under team boss Torsten van Haasteren is based in De Rijp north of Amsterdam.

The trophies were presented on the podium by Alexander Pollich, CEO of Porsche Deutschland GmbH. “In its 32nd season, the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland still epitomises gripping motorsport. The drivers and teams demonstrated racing at a high level. Saturday’s race here in Zandvoort was the best proof of this – a great start into the second half of the season,” said Pollich. In the championship, ten Voorde (191 points) has successfully defended his lead. Behind the 24-year-old, Laurin Heinrich (Germany/Van Berghe Huber Racing) sits second with 154 points. The German finished his race on 15th after receiving a drive-through penalty due to a jump-start. Güven (142 points) ranks third overall.

Round ten of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland in Zandvoort gets underway on Sunday at 10:10 a.m. local time. Ayhancan Güven takes up the race from pole position.

Result race 9, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland
1. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
2. Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin)
3. Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing)
4. Leon Köhler (Germany/Nebulus Racing by Huber)
5. Max van Splunteren (Netherlands/GP Elite)
6. Morris Schuring (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
7. Julian Hanses (Germany/HRT Performance)
8. Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon Team Textar)
9. Simone Iaquinta (Italy/Dinamic Motorsport)
10. Christopher Zöchling (Austria/Fach Auto Tech)

Points standings after 9 of 16 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 191 points
2. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/Van Berghe Huber Racing), 154 points
3. Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing), 142 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: