you're reading...

Biggest season yet for Porsche Sprint Challenge GB

Porsche Visit Cayman Islands Sprint Challenge GB enters its third season with a strong grid competing across 15 rounds, making the 2022 season the biggest yet. Following a successful introduction in 2020, the championship continues to establish itself on the national motorsport scene, showcasing an important level in the Porsche Motorsport Pyramid with the 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport.

Drivers will once again be competing alongside three established domestic motorsport packages in the UK, racing in support of the British Touring Car Championship, British GT Championship and Porsche Club GB Motorsport.

The 2022 season comprises a full calendar of six weekends with an increased number of rounds, up from 12 in previous years. 15 races will take place in total, with three British GT weekends hosting a trio of races across the weekend to deliver more track action than any previous season. An exciting mix of returning drivers and ambitious newcomers in two categories (Pro and Am) will compete under unchanged regulations. Racing gets underway alongside the British GT Championship with a triple-header on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit on 7 and 8 May 2022, broadcast live via a dedicated livestream.

2022 calendar

7 / 8 May – Silverstone (GP) – British GT – Rounds 1, 2 & 3
28 / 29 May – Thruxton – TOCA – Rounds 4 & 5
24 / 26 June – Croft – TOCA – Rounds 6 & 7
9 July – Oulton Park (Int) – Porsche Club GB – Rounds 8 & 9
10 / 11 September – Brands Hatch – British GT – Rounds 10, 11 & 12
15 / 16 October – Donington Park – British GT – Rounds 13, 14 & 15

Pro category

The Pro category battle is set to feature a mix of familiar names and intriguing newcomers following the progression of Theo Edgerton and Jack Bartholomew to Porsche Carrera Cup GB. Matthew Armstrong (Team Parker Racing) makes his return to the championship following a successful end to the 2021 season that saw the son of former Porsche Carrera Cup GB racer, Justin, score four consecutive podium finishes. Armstrong is joined in the Pro category battle by Charles Clark (Team Parker Racing) who also drove to four overall podium finishes in 2021 and returns for this third Sprint Challenge GB season. Harry Foster (Team Parker Racing) made his debut at the 2021 season finale and immediately impressed with a podium finish in his first race, looking to build on that success in 2022.

Three new Pro category drivers arrive with their own designs on championship glory. Toby Trice (SVG Motorsport) took GTA Class honours in the 2021 Ginetta GT Academy and has developed a profile for his campaign to raise awareness for infertility through motorsport. Matt Greenwood (RaceLab) started racing cars at the age of 14 and became the youngest ever Britcar British Endurance Champion in 2018. Steve Roberts (Redline Racing) tasted success racing Formula Ford single-seaters before being crowned BMW Compact Cup Great Britain champion in 2015.

Am category

The Am category replicates the division of experience in Pro with a mix of established names set to be challenged by hopeful newcomers. Carl Cavers (Valluga) made his championship debut in 2020 and returned in 2021, standing on the category podium during both seasons and starting 2022 as one of the category favourites. Another familiar name is that of John Westbrook (Rob Boston Racing) who made his racing debut with the championship in 2020 and progressed to take a category victory. John White (Team Parker Racing) made the transition from track days to racing in 2021 and will continue to adapt to competition in 2022.

Since its inception the championship has represented an excellent starting point for those nearly or completely new to racing, four newcomers to the Am category for 2022 look to underline that. Rupert Laslett (Raceway Motorsport), who competed in Ginetta G40 Cup in 2021 and 24-hour races before that, makes his championship debut. Jason Pelosi (Deranged Motorsport), William Tewiah (RaceLab) and Timothy Creswick (Parr Motorsport) line up with less experience, but all three are just as eager to make their mark on the Am category battle.

Nine teams

Four returning teams are joined by five newcomers meaning the 2022 paddock will be the championship’s biggest yet. Making a return to the championship is Team Parker Racing, the outfit took Teams championship honours in both Porsche Visit Cayman Islands Sprint Challenge GB and Porsche Carrera Cup GB in 2021. It will be joined by 2020 and 2021 Teams championship runners-up Redline Racing, alongside experienced fellow returnees Valluga and Rob Boston Racing.

Making its welcome return to the Porsche Motorsport GB family is Parr Motorsport. The team took eight overall race wins during its time competing in Porsche Carrera Cup GB, establishing the team as a familiar name in the Porsche paddock. Parr Motorsport will be joined by newcomers Deranged Motorsport, RaceLab, Raceway Motorsport and SVG Motorsport – all fielding drivers in both categories.

Driver progression

Underlining the importance of the championship as part of the Porsche Motorsport Pyramid, no fewer than three drivers have developed their careers into Porsche Carrera Cup GB for 2022. 2021 overall Porsche Visit Cayman Islands Sprint Challenge GB champion Theo Edgerton opened his Carrera Cup GB account at Donington Park in April with a pair of second place finishes on his debut.

2021 runner-up in the Pro category, Jack Bartholomew, has also made the step up to Porsche Carrera Cup GB for 2022 as has Am challenger Nigel Rice – both have impressed with their ability to adapt to driving the latest generation of 911 GT3 Cup. All three drivers follow in the footsteps of 2021 Am category champion Ian Humphris, who made the transition to the flagship Porsche Motorsport GB championship at the end of 2021. Meanwhile, 2020 overall champion James Dorlin and 2021 Am category vice champion Alex Malykhin move on to race at GT3 level in the British GT Championship for this season.

2022 regulations

The championship rules and points structure established in 2020 across both categories (Pro and Am) remain unchanged. One additional point is awarded in each category – Pro and Am – for the fastest lap during qualifying and one additional point will be awarded in each category – Pro and Am – for the fastest lap during the race. Three championship awards will be made at the end of the season: Pro, Am and Teams. An overall points table calculated on the same basis as in 2021 will determine the Teams championship.

Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport

The championship for both amateur and professional drivers continues to use the 425 hp Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport which offers drivers adjustable ABS, traction control and stability control. The Clubsport is optimised for racing though it has a close relationship to its road-going counterpart via a high percentage of carry-over parts. The GT4 Clubsport’s ‘zero hours’ engine and gearbox rebuild schedule ensures lower running costs for competitors.

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: