you're reading...

Laurin Heinrich wins turbulent seventh race of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season

Fourth win of the season and series lead extended: Porsche Junior Laurin Heinrich (Deutschland/SSR Huber Racing) continues his top form in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. At the Circuit Zandvoort (Netherlands), the German won round seven on Saturday. “It’s difficult to overtake on this narrow track. So I immediately put the pressure on at the start and reaped the rewards. It was a hectic race but I managed to use the safety car phase to get my tyres back into the ideal temperature window,” says Heinrich. The second and third podium steps at the race run as support to the ADAC GT Masters were occupied by Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite) and Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing).

With a 31-strong field of 375 kW (510 PS) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, the start of the race proved eventful. In the first corner, several vehicles collided, which resulted in an interruption lasting several minutes. Shortly after the restart, Heinrich snatched the lead after squeezing past polesitter ten Voorde on the inside. Despite two safety car phases, the 20-year-old kept his cool and took the flag in first place after 14 laps. Ten Voorde was unable to put any serious pressure on Heinrich, with the 25-year-old ultimately taking the flag at his home race 0.6 seconds behind the winner. “Unfortunately, I didn’t get off to a good start at the restart, and that proved decisive. In the race, I managed to match Laurin Heinrich’s pace but I just couldn’t find a chance to get past him,” stated ten Voorde.

Buus was delighted with his third podium finish of the season. “My goal was to finish in the top three, so I’m happy with this result. At times, I managed to get close to Larry ten Voorde but I didn’t want to risk losing my position with a rash move,” says the Dane. Positions four and five went to Lucas Groeneveld (GP Elite) from the Netherlands and rookie Alexander Tauscher (Allied-Racing) – the best result by now for the pair in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. Jukka Honkavuori (Finland/ID Racing) finished in sixth place but was subsequently handed a 30-second penalty for jumping the start. Putting in a spirited charge through the field, Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon) ploughed from 16th on the grid to finish in sixth place. His fellow countryman Max van Splunteren (Team GP Elite) scored seventh ahead of Lorcan Hanafin (Great Britain/Fach Auto Tech).

In the ProAm category, Kim Hauschild (HRT Performance) initially took the lead. However, the German had to park his Cup-911 early in the pits with a puncture. As a result, Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix) won this classification on the 4.259-kilometre racetrack on the North Sea Coast ahead of his compatriots Sören Spreng (Black Falcon) and Christof Langer (Fach Auto Tech).

Thanks to his win, Heinrich maintains his lead in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland after seven of 16 rounds with 153 points. Defending champion ten Voorde ranks second (112 points) ahead of Buus (98 points). Round eight of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland takes off on Sunday at 2.40 pm local time and is broadcast live by the free German TV station NITRO. RTL Deutschland broadcasts from Zandvoort from 2.15 pm. Fans can watch the race via live stream on RTL+, on the Facebook and YouTube channels of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland as well as in the Porsche Motorsport Hub.

Result race 7, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland
1. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing)
2. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
3. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing)
4. Lucas Groeneveld (Netherlands/GP Elite)
5. Alexander Tauscher (Germany/Allied-Racing)
6. Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon)
7. Max van Splunteren (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
8. Lorcan Hanafin (Great Britain/Fach Auto Tech)
9. Michael Ammermüller (Germany/SSR Huber Racing)
10. Lukas Ertl (Germany/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin)

Points standings after 7 of 16 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing), 153 points
2. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 112 points
3. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing), 98 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: