you're reading...

Dylan Pereira clinches second win of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season at the Nürburgring

Dylan Pereira (IronForce Racing by Phoenix) clinched his second win of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season on Sunday. At the Nürburgring, the Luxembourger brought home a commanding flights-to-flag victory. “My start was great and I drove a flawless race. We also reduced the air pressure slightly compared to Saturday to get the tyres at the optimal working temperature. That paid off,” says Pereira. Positions two and three at round ten of the season went to Porsche Junior Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing) and the Dutchman Loek Hartog (Black Falcon). A total of 23,500 visitors witnessed the race action live at the track, making it a record turnout for an ADAC GT Master event in the Eifel.

Under blues skies and in temperatures of 22 degrees Celsius, Pereira controlled two critical situations at the wheel of his 375 kW (510 PS) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup: At the start, the 25-year-old converted his pole position into the lead, and at the restart after a safety car phase, Pereira successfully defended his top spot. After 21 laps, the driver from Schouweiler in Luxembourg crossed the finish line in first place. Championship leader Heinrich finished second after getting past the Dutchman Larry ten Voorde (Team GP Elite) midway through the race. “It was a tough but fair fight with Larry ten Voorde. And such intense duels are exactly what the Porsche Carrera Cup is known for. After my tenth place on Saturday, I’m pleased that I managed to extend my championship lead with second place today,” says Heinrich.

Hartog was delighted with his third podium result of the season. At the start, the driver from the one-make cup’s talent pool programme was relegated from third to fifth place but worked his way back up into the top three. “It was a turbulent race. Some of my overtaking moves were a little daring, but I was rewarded for it,” stated Hartog. Spectators were treated to a five-way battle for fourth place. The three youngsters Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing), Morris Schuring (Netherlands/SSR Huber Racing) and Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite) put Saturday’s winner ten Voorde and his fellow countryman Max van Splunteren (Team GP Elite) under pressure. After swapping places many times, the order at the flag was Schuring ahead of Buus, ten Voorde, van Splunteren and van Eijndhoven.

In the ProAm class, Carlos Rivas (Black Falcon) rounded off a successful weekend with his second victory on the 3.629-kilometre racetrack. With this one-two result, the Luxembourger has reduced the gap to the ProAm-class leader Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix) to seven points. Sharing the podium with Rivas on Sunday was Georgi Donchev (Huber Racing) from Bulgaria and Ahmad Alshehab (CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin) from Kuwait.

“The start of the second half of the season went as seamlessly as the first eight races: two gripping races, many overtaking manoeuvres and a terrific atmosphere with packed grandstands. I can’t wait for the next races,” says Hurui Issak, Project Manager of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. With 195 points, Heinrich continues at the top of the championship points’ table after ten of 16 races. Behind the 20-year-old in second and third are ten Voorde (172 points) and Buus (149 points).

In two weeks, the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland returns to the racetrack. From 19 to 21 August, the one-make cup will compete at the “Family & Friends Festival” at the Lausitzring. On this occasion, rounds eleven and twelve will be contested as part of the ADAC GT Masters support programme. Jonas Greif (Germany/SSR Huber Racing) has the shortest distance to travel. The 21-year-old lives in Coswig, to the northeast of Dresden, about 60 kilometres from the Lausitzring.

Result race 10, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland
1. Dylan Pereira (Luxembourg/IronForce Racing by Phoenix)
2. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing)
3. Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon)
4. Morris Schuring (Netherlands/SSR Huber Racing)
5. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing)
6. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
7. Max van Splunteren (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
8. Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite)
9. Alexander Tauscher (Germany/Allied-Racing)
10. Jesse van Kuijk (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)

Points standings after 10 of 16 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing), 195 points
2. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 172 points
3. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing), 149 points

Rookie classification
1. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing), 195 points
2. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 172 points
3. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing), 149 points

ProAm classification
1. Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix), 193 points
2. Carlos Rivas (Luxembourg/Black Falcon), 186 points
3. Sören Spreng (Germany/Black Falcon), 127 points

Team classification
1. SSR Huber Racing, 317 points
2. Team GP Elite, 263 points
3. Allied-Racing, 193 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: