you're reading...

Dylan Pereira wins spectacular Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland wet race at the Lausitzring

Dylan Pereira (IronForce Racing by Phoenix) secured his third victory this season at round eleven of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. At the Lausitzring, the Luxembourger crossed the finish line first after an action-packed race on Saturday with rain setting in during the final minutes on Saturday. “After my poor start, I didn’t expect to win the race. But I knew I had to keep my cool under such conditions and that paid eventually paid off,” says Pereira. Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/Huber Racing) celebrated his first podium result of the season with second place. His fellow countryman Loek Hartog (Black Falcon) followed him over the line in third. Alexander Pollich, CEO at Porsche Deutschland GmbH, witnessed the race as part of the ADAC GT Masters support programme live and presented the winner’s trophies.

Three safety car phases and intense battles for positions made for an eventful race on Saturday. In drizzly conditions, pole-setter Bastian Buus (Allied-Racing) won the sprint to the first corner in his 375 kW (510 PS) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup but slid off the wet track into the gravel trap shortly afterwards. Seventeen-year-old Morris Schuring (SSR Huber Racing) moved into the lead but immediately had to relinquish it to Larry ten Voorde (Team GP Elite). The Dutchman then controlled the action until the final laps. Two decisive situations emerged in the last two laps: Porsche Junior Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing) swept past Pereira and ten Voorde. In a tight pack, the trio tried to squeeze through the first corner, Heinrich spun after a nudge and Pereira drove to victory shortly afterwards.

Ten Voorde crossed the finish line in second place but was subsequently handed a 30-second penalty for causing the collision with Heinrich. As a result, the 25-year-old was classified as 23rd. With second place, van Buren scored his first top-3 result of the season. “What a race. The track surface was wet and slippery but I like driving in the rain,” says van Buren. His Huber Racing squad had another reason to celebrate. The Lausitzring event was the 100th Carrera Cup race for Christoph Huber’s team – a milestone for the outfit from Neuburg am Inn in Bavaria. A total of 30 different drivers have contested the one-make cup for the team, which was founded in 2016. Huber Racing’s greatest success to date was Larry ten Voorde’s overall victory in 2020.

The trophy for third place went to Hartog. Following him over the finish line on the racetrack in Germany’s southern Brandenburg was Daan van Kuijk (Netherlands/GP Elite), Jukka Honkavuori (Finland/ID Racing) and Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing). Schuring secured seventh place. Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite) came eighth as the best rookie, with Heinrich finishing ninth. “I started from seventh on the grid but managed to catch up to the leading pack early on and I even took the lead towards the end. Unfortunately, just before the finish, I was hit by another car,” states Heinrich. The Würzburg driver still leads the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland after eleven races. With 202 points, Heinrich sits at the top of the leaderboard ahead of ten Voorde (172 points) and Pereira (165 points).

In the ProAm class, Jan-Erik Slooten remains on course to claim the trophy. Driving for IronForce Racing by Phoenix, the German won his class on the 3.478-kilometre racetrack north of Dresden ahead of his two compatriots Kim Hauschild (HRT Performance) and Sören Spreng (Black Falcon).

Sunday’s Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland race also promises to be exciting. Round twelve takes off at 2.40 pm local time – with Pereira starting from pole position. NITRO broadcasts the Lausitzring race live from 2:15 pm. Moreover, the race can be viewed via live stream on the YouTube and Facebook channels of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland and in the Porsche Motorsport Hub.

Result race 11, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland
1. Dylan Pereira (Luxembourg/IronForce Racing by Phoenix)
2. Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/Huber Racing)
3. Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon)
4. Daan van Kuijk (Netherlands/GP Elite)
5. Jukka Honkavuori (Finland/ID Racing)
6. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing)
7. Morris Schuring (Netherlands/SSR Huber Racing)
8. Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite)
9. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing)
10. Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix)

Points standings after 11 of 16 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing), 202 points
2. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 172 points
3. Dylan Pereira (Luxembourg/IronForce Racing by Phoenix), 165 points

Rookie classification
1. Lorcan Hanafin (United Kingdom/Fach Auto Tech), 213 points
2. Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite), 189 points
3. Alexander Fach (Switzerland/Fach Auto Tech), 158 points

ProAm classification
1. Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix), 218 points
2. Carlos Rivas (Luxembourg/Black Falcon), 196 points
3. Sören Spreng (Germany/Black Falcon), 147 points

Team classification
1. SSR Huber Racing, 333 points
2. Team GP Elite, 266 points
3. Allied-Racing, 203 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: