you're reading...

Larry ten Voorde wins in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland at Hockenheim and celebrates his 50th podium result

At the penultimate race of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland, Larry ten Voorde (Team GP Elite) achieved a lights-to-flag victory. At round 15 of the season on Saturday, the Dutchman was followed over the line on the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg by Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing) and Porsche-Junior Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing). “I immediately found my rhythm and it was a fun race. At first, Bastian Buus was right on my bumper but I managed to shake him off early and pull away,” said ten Voorde. Two titles are up for grabs on Sunday: Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix) and Carlos Rivas (Luxembourg/Black Falcon) fight for the ProAm championship crown, with Lorcan Hanafin (United Kingdom/Fach Auto Tech) locked in a duel for the rookie title with Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite).

From the beginning, ten Voorde was determined to claim his fourth win of the season. At the start, the polesitter defended his front position against Buus and eked out a comfortable lead at the wheel of his 375 kW (510 PS) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. After 19 laps, the Dutchman crossed the finish line first ahead of Buus. This victory was particularly significant for the two-time champion (2020 and 2021): it was the 50th time that ten Voorde climbed the podium in the German one-make cup – with the GP Elite driver winning 22 of them. For Buus, second place was his eighth top-three result this season. The Talent Pool driver received his trophy from Thomas Laudenbach, Vice President of Porsche Motorsport. “The team worked on the vehicle well into the night. It’s great that we rewarded ourselves for that. I’m tackling Sunday’s race again from the second grid spot and the goal, of course, is to win,” said Buus.

Third place went to Heinrich, who claimed an early championship crown at the previous race weekend. In the race on the 4.574-kilometre Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg, the young German went head-to-head with Dylan Pereira (IronForce Racing by Phoenix). In the final lap, Heinrich swept past the Luxembourger to claim the third step of the podium. “At the start, I lost a position because of a collision. I then fought my way up the order. The duel with Dylan Pereira was great motor racing, which ended with a good result for me,” said Heinrich. Following Pereira over the line were Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon) and the two rookie drivers Alexander Tauscher (Germany/Allied-Racing) and Hanafin. Van Eijndhoven achieved eighth place.

In the ProAm class, Rivas notched up his ninth win of the season, beating the Luxembourger Christof Langer (Germany/Fach Auto Tech) and Ahmad Alshehab (Kuwait/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin). Thanks to this victory, Rivas is now just six points shy of the ProAm leader Slooten. Hanafin ranks first in the rookie class with a ten-point advantage over van Eijndhoven. There are still up to 25 points to be earned in the two classifications on Sunday. Heading into the 16th round, the order in the overall standings is Heinrich (284 points) followed by ten Voorde (241 points) and Pereira (224 points).

Fans were also treated to some action-packed virtual racing in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland on Saturday: In the Porsche Hospitality, the Talent Pool drivers pitted themselves against the Porsche Esports works drivers Mack Bakkum (Netherlands), Mitchell deJong (USA), Tommy Østgaard (Norway) and Joshua Rogers (Australia) from the Porsche Coanda Esports Racing Team. In mixed teams, two races were contested on the digital version of the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg.

The final round of the 2022 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season gets underway on Sunday at 2:45 pm as part of the ADAC GT Masters support programme. The German free-TV channel NITRO broadcasts the race live from 2:15pm. The live stream on the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland YouTube and Facebook channels and in the Porsche Motorsport Hub starts at 2.30 pm.

Result race 15, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland
1. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
2. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing)
3. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing)
4. Dylan Pereira (Luxembourg/IronForce Racing by Phoenix)
5. Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon)
6. Alexander Tauscher (Germany/Allied-Racing)
7. Lorcan Hanafin (United Kingdom/Fach Auto Tech)
8. Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite)
9. Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/Huber Racing)
10. Glenn van Parijs (Belgium/ID Racing)

Points standings after 15 of 16 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing), 284 points
2. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 241 points
3. Dylan Pereira (Luxembourg/IronForce Racing by Phoenix), 224 points

Rookie classification
1. Lorcan Hanafin (United Kingdom/Fach Auto Tech), 281 points
2. Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/GP Elite), 271 points
3. Alexander Tauscher (Germany/Allied-Racing), 228 points

ProAm classification
1. Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix), 287 points
2. Carlos Rivas (Luxembourg/Black Falcon), 281 points
3. Georgi Donchev (Bulgaria/Huber Racing), 189 points

Team classification
1. SSR Huber Racing, 453 points
2. Team GP Elite, 352 points
3. Allied-Racing, 290 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: