you're reading...

Carrera Cup Deutschland victory number nine: Sven Müller conquers the Dutch dune circuit

M16_3061In the Dutch coastal resort town of Zandvoort, Porsche Junior Sven Müller extends his championship lead after pocketing his ninth win of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. At the wheel of his 460 hp Porsche 911 GR3 Cup run by Konrad Motorsport, the 24-year-old won the eleventh race of the German one-make race series. With a gap of 0.2 seconds, the German relegated Jeffrey Schmidt (Team Lechner Huber Racing) from Switzerland to second. Christian Engelhart (D/MRS GT-Racing) occupied the third podium spot after Saturday’s race. “In European nine-pin bowling we call this a strike. I’ve won nine of eleven races. The finish today was rather confusing because as I drove over the finish line the organiser forgot to wave the chequered flag. I’m very happy about my first ever win at Zandvoort,” said Müller.

In the 9am qualifying session, Schmidt posted pole position on 4.307-kilometre dune circuit. Müller got a better jump off the line and pulled next to Schmidt. As the pair turned into the first corner, Müller was a nose ahead. Although the German held on to his lead over the 14 laps, Schmidt kept his rival under pressure and managed to close the gap to the frontrunner to 0.7 seconds. By the end of the race the Swiss had almost caught the German, but with the absence of the chequered flag, the pair raced on to the next corner. Via radio, the Steward of the Meeting then clarified the misunderstanding and announced the end of the race: “When you start from pole you want to win. Unfortunately I didn’t manage it today because my start wasn’t great. At the end it was a little chaotic because we didn’t see the flag. I need to get off the line better on Sunday then perhaps I can win,” said Schmidt.

Scoring position three, Engelhart earned vital points towards the championship. “The most exciting part was the lap after the final lap. Everyone was overtaking because no one really knew if the race was still on or not. Such a situation is very rare,” explained Engelhart. Porsche junior Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing) finished fourth behind Engelhart: “My start wasn’t good at all and unfortunately I couldn’t make up any positions. I managed to stay with Engelhart early on but my driving took a toll on the tyres and ultimate I wasn’t able to maintain the pace.” Fifth place went to Britain’s Nicholas Yelloly (Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) with the Australian Nick Foster (AUS/KÜS Team75 Bernhard) concluding the race in sixth.

After eleven of 16 races, Müller leads the overall championship after nine victories with 201 points. Ranking second is Engelhart with 181 points. Olsen sits third with 168 points, which makes him the best rookie in the field. Wolfgang Triller (D/Team Huber Lechner Racing) leads the B-category for amateur race drivers with 212 points. Thanks to the good results of Müller and his Austrian teammate Luca Rettenbacher, Konrad Motorsport ranks first in the team classification.

The next Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland race in Zandvoort takes off on Sunday at 8.25 hours.

Race 11 result:
1. Sven Müller (D/Konrad Motorsport)
2. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Team Lechner Huber Racing)
3. Christian Engelhart (D/MRS GT-Racing)
4. Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing)
5. Nicholas Yelloly (GB/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
6. Nick Foster (AUS/KÜS Team75 Bernhard)
7. Luca Rettenbacher (A/Konrad Motorsport)
8. David Kolkmann (D/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
9. Ryan Cullen (GB/Konrad Motorsport)
10. Marek Böckmann (D/KÜS Team75 Bernhard)
11. Wolfgang Triller (D/Team Huber Lechner Racing)
12. Wolf Nathan (NL/Team Huber Lechner Racing)
13. Ricardo Flores Ramirez (PE/MRS GT-Racing)

Points standings after 11 of 16 races:
Driver classification
1. Sven Müller (D/Konrad Motorsport), 201 points
2. Christian Engelhart (D/MRS GT-Racing), 181 points
3. Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing), 168 points

Rookie classification
1. Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing), 168 points
2. Luca Rettenbacher (A/Konrad Motorsport), 112 points
3. David Kolkmann (D/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 105 points

Amateur classification
1. Wolfgang Triller (D/Team Huber Lechner Racing), 212 points
2. Wolf Nathan (NL/Team Huber Lechner Racing), 160 points
3. Ricardo Flores Ramirez (PE/MRS GT-Racing), 156 points

Team classification
1. Konrad Motorsport, 311 points
2. Team Lechner Huber Racing, 289 points
3. MRS GT-Racing, 232 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: