you're reading...

Carrera Cup Deutschland Thriller finale – Porsche junior Sven Müller claims title with fifth place

m16_5124Sven Müller is the new champion of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. The 24-year-old German from the town of Bingen on the Rhine kept the suspense high at the season finale on the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg and, despite a collision, drive-through penalty and fifth place, secured the title. Christian Engelhart (D/MRS GT-Racing) won round 16 on Sunday ahead of Nicholas Yelloly (GB/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) and Matteo Cairoli (I/KÜS Team75 Bernhard), but this was not enough for Engelhart to snatch the championship crown from Müller. At the end of the day, Müller had eight points more than Engelhart. Clinching ten victories from 16 races, Porsche junior Müller set a new record in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. “In the end things got tighter than I’d hoped for. At times I thought it wasn’t going to be enough. But with my Konrad Motorport team I dominated the season and now I’m simply thrilled to take home the title,” said Müller.

Müller tackled the race from pole position, the ninth time this season, but initially struggled. Despite getting a clean start, Müller was unable to shake off Schmidt, with the Swiss overtaking him before into the fourth corner. As the German tried to re-establish himself at the front, he touched his opponent’s vehicle. Schmidt slid into the run-off zone, scraped the guard rail and was out of contention. The safety car was deployed and the manoeuvre earned Müller a drive-through penalty. Once the Konrad pilot had driven through the pit lane he was back to 13th place and over the remaining seven laps worked his way through the field to finish fifth. This was enough for him to secure the title.

Although Engelhart was delighted with his win after 18 laps, he was still disappointed at missing out on the title: “I had a very consistent season and was on the podium 13 times. Of course I’m now struggling a bit with the odd point that I missed out on. Still, it’s great to wind up the season with a victory. I’d like to congratulate Sven on the title. He had a fantastic season with ten victories.” Over the course of the season Yelloly’s form improved, culminating in podium spots at both the penultimate race weekend on the Nürburgring and at the final race in Hockenheim. Second place at the finale marked his best result of the year. Porsche junior Cairoli, who contested the Carrera Cup for the first time this year for Team75 Bernhard, claimed the last podium step. “There were lots of collisions today and I’m pleased that I didn’t get caught up in any of them. I congratulate my Porsche junior colleague on the title. He did a great job this season.”

Position four went to the Swedish guest driver Philip Morin (S/Team Lechner Huber Racing). Müller was flagged off in fifth, after David Kolkmann (D/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) was handed a 10-second drive-through penalty due to a jump start. Porsche junior Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing) delivered a gripping duel with Müller over the last laps only to receive a 30-second penalty after causing a collision which relegated him back to 16th position. “This season was packed with action, which I sometimes could have done without. To finish the season third overall, however, is more than I expected. I’m really pleased with my first Porsche year,” declared Olsen.

While Müller was crowned champion with 271 points, the vice-championship title went to Engelhart with 263 points. Olsen claimed third with 218 points and also secured an early rookie championship title. In the team classification, Frank Konrad’s squad held a narrow lead. Konrad Motorsport won the team title with 419 points ahead of the Lechner Huber Racing team (411) managed by Christoph Huber. Third place went to MRS GT-Racing (342) with the team bosses Iris Dorr and Karsten Molitor.

1. Christian Engelhart (D/MRS GT-Racing)
2. Nicholas Yelloly (GB/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
3. Matteo Cairoli (I/KÜS Team75 Bernhard)
4. Philip Morin (S/Team Lechner Huber Racing)
5. Sven Müller (D/Konrad Motorsport)
6. Wolfgang Triller (D/Team Huber Lechner Racing)
7. David Kolkmann (D/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
8. Robin Hansson (S/Fragus BR Motorsport)
9. Nick Foster (AUS/Konrad Motorsport)
10. Pontus Fredricsson (S/Fragus BR Motorsport)
11. Patrick Skoog (S/PFI Racing)
12. Lars-Bertil Rantzow (S/Mtech Competition)
13. Luca Rettenbacher (A/Konrad Motorsport)
14. Henric Skoog (S/PFI Racing)
15. Philipp Sager (A/Konrad Motorsport)
16. Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing)
17. Wolf Nathan (NL/Team Huber Lechner Racing)
18. Siegfried Venema (D/MRS GT-Racing)
19. Magnus Öhman (S/Mtech Competition)
20. Mats Karlsson (S/Cirkus Karlsson Racing)
Richy Müller (D/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Team Lechner Huber Racing)

Final points’ standings after 16 of 16 races:
Driver classification
1. Sven Müller (D/Konrad Motorsport), 271 points
2. Christian Engelhart (D/MRS GT-Racing), 263 points
3. Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing), 218 points

Rookie classification
1. Dennis Olsen (N/Team Lechner Huber Racing), 218 points
2. Nicholas Yelloly (GB/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 161 points
3. David Kolkmann (D/Rookie Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 154 points

Amateur classification
1. Wolfgang Triller (D/Team Huber Lechner Racing), 310 points
2. Wolf Nathan (NL/Team Huber Lechner Racing), 234 points
3. Ricardo Flores Ramirez (PE/MRS GT-Racing), 156 points

Team classification
1. Konrad Motorsport, 419 points
2. Team Lechner Huber Racing, 411 points
3. MRS GT-Racing, 342 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: