you're reading...

Dutchman Larry Ten Voorde brings home Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland victory in the Eifel

Larry Ten Voorde (Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) secured his first victory in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland on the Nürburgring. At the race contested together with the Porsche Sports Cup as part of the “Porsche Motorsport Race Weekend”, the Dutchman beat Porsche Junior Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport) to the flag on Sunday at the wheel of his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. Germany’s Wolfgang Triller, driving for the raceunion Huber Racing team, clinched the third podium step at the invitation race as support to the Sports Car World Endurance Championship (WEC). “At the start I first had to find the right racing line under these conditions because the kerbs were very slippery. My duel with Thomas Preining was extremely close. That makes me particularly pleased about my victory,” said Ten Voorde.

In light rain and an outside temperature of 14 degrees Celsius, the 37-strong field of the combined Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland and the Porsche Sports Cup on the occasion of the inaugural “Porsche Motorsport Race Weekend” went out on wet tyres. When the lights were extinguished for the rolling start of the 30-minute race, the field spent the first two laps behind a safety car due to a vehicle that had been left stranded on the racetrack. As the result on Saturday determined the grid lineup for the second invitation race, Preining started as the leader. The Porsche Junior initially managed to defend his lead on the wet track, but Ten Voorde stuck close to his bumper. The two youngsters swapped positions constantly over the course of the race and delivered a gripping fight for first place. In the tenth lap, Ten Voorde made a decisive move, which saw him take the lead position at the end of the finish straight and ultimately drive to victory after twelve laps. “Unfortunately I was a little late on the brakes at one point. I had an intense but very fair fight with Larry Ten Voorde,” said Preining.

A packed grid with drivers from seven countries treated spectators to many overtaking manoeuvres and close duels. Henric Skoog (S/raceunion Huber Racing) took up the race from the third grid spot and crossed the line in the same position. However, because of an illegal shortcut, the 21 year old was handed a 15-second time penalty after the race, which saw him relegated to fourth place. As a result Triller, as the best amateur driver of the day, inherited the third grid step. “The conditions were tricky, but I had a fantastic time out on the track today. It was great to race with the Porsche Sports Cup,” stated Triller. Behind the experienced Porsche driver from Mengkofen, Stefan Rehkopf (D/Cito Pretiosa) secured position five after he overtook Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa) in lap five. The driver from Düsseldorf concluded the invitation race on the storied 5.148-kilometre racetrack in sixth. These two teammates rounded off the podium in the amateur classification.

Michael Steiner (Member of the Executive Board Research and Development at Porsche AG), Dr. Frank-Steffen Walliser (Vice President Motorsport and GT Cars at Porsche AG) and Karsten Sohns (CFO of the Porsche Deutschland GmbH) handed over the trophies at the podium ceremony. The invitation races as part of the “Porsche Motorsport Race Weekend” were not counted as official rounds of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland, and therefore no points were awarded towards the championship.

The next two official races of the national one-make race series will be contested in the Eifel. As support to the DTM, the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland will be held on the Nürburgring from 8 to 10 September.

Race result Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland:
1. Larry Ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
2. Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport)
3. Wolfgang Triller (D/raceunion Huber Racing)
4. Henric Skoog (S/raceunion Huber Racing)
5. Stefan Rehkopf (D/Cito Pretiosa)
6. Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa)
7. Carlos Rivas (L/BLACK FALCON)
8. Peter Scheufen (D/Cito Pretiosa)
9. Wolf Nathan (NL/raceunion Huber Racing)
10. Tom Kieffer (L/BLACK FALCON)
Christian Kosch (L/BLACK FALCON)

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: