you're reading...

Michael Ammermüller scores double Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland victory at the Sachsenring

Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing) enjoyed a perfect weekend in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland: After winning Saturday’s race, he followed up with a second victory on Sunday at the Sachsenring. “That was a brilliant weekend. I’m thrilled for my team that we could finally be rewarded with victories. My start was fantastic and decisive for first place,” said Ammermüller. At round twelve of Porsche’s national one-make race series, Nick Yelloly (Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) from Great Britain secured second, with his teammate Larry Ten Voorde from the Netherlands achieving third place.

As the fastest in qualifying, Ammermüller secured pole position for the race. After the start, the 31-year-old settled in at the front of the field. Porsche Junior Thomas Preining (Konrad Motorsport) took up the race from second alongside Ammermüller. The Austrian treated spectators to a gripping duel with Yelloly. Although Preining managed to shake off of the 26-year-old over the course of the race, he wasn’t able to retain his position. In lap 19, he slid into the gravel with his 911, and that was the end of his race. When the safety car was deployed, Yelloly inherited second place from the junior driver. After the restart in lap 23, the final lap, Yelloly defended his position to flag. “I waited patiently for Thomas Preining to make a mistake and was rewarded. It was unfortunate for Thomas, he drove a strong race,” said Yelloly.

Third place on the 3.645-kilometre circuit went to Ten Voorde. Taking up the round twelve from fifth on the grid, he overtook Toni Wolf (D/ Huber Racing by TriSpa) and Dennis Olsen (Konrad Motorsport) in the very first lap. Afterwards, Ten Voorde enjoyed a gripping fight with the Norwegian. “I’m happy with third place. My duel with Dennis Olsen was really intense, but we always left each other plenty of room,” said Ten Voorde. The 20-year-old currently leads the category for series newcomers with 251 points.

Behind Ten Voorde, Olsen crossed the finish line in fourth place at the wheel of his Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. “My start wasn’t so great. Afterwards I tried everything to get past Larry Ten Voorde, but it simply didn’t work. Still, I’ll travel to the season finale at Hockenheim feeling confident,” said Olsen. The local Saxon driver Toni Wolf (Huber Racing by TriSpa) clinched fifth place, with the German David Kolkmann (Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) claiming sixth on the storied rollercoaster racetrack. Wolf Nathan (Huber Racing by TriSpa) concluded his race as the best driver in the amateur classification. The Dutchman relegated Tom Kieffer (L/BLACK FALCON) and Philipp Sager (A/Zele-Racing) to second and third in the B-classification.

Bad luck hampered Porsche Junior Preining. “I got away well off the line and managed to defend my position from Nick Yelloly. Towards the end of the race I unfortunately lost the rear of my car as I accelerated out of a corner and that was the end of my race. I feel sorry for the team because we had the speed,” said Preining. Since the 19-year-old had completed over 75 percent of the race distance, he was ranked as fourth in the rookie classification. With 205 points, Preining retains his second place in the rookie classification.

Olsen travels to the season finale in Hockenheim as the leader of the overall classification. The junior race driver from the Norwegian town Våler leads the series with six wins and 230 points. Behind Olsen, Yelloly ranks second with 215 points. Ammermüller currently lies third in the championship with 176 points. The final race weekend of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season will be contested at the Hockenheimring from 13 to 15 October, where rounds 13 and 14 will be held as part of the DTM race weekend.

Result race 12:
1. Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing)
2. Nick Yelloly (GB/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
3. Larry Ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
4. Dennis Olsen (N/Konrad Motorsport)
5. Toni Wolf (D/ Huber Racing by TriSpa)
6. David Kolkmann (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
7. Gabriele Piana (I/RN Vision Team BLACK FALCON)
8. Christopher Zöchling (A/MRS GT-Racing)
9. Wolf Nathan (NL/Huber Racing by TriSpa)
10. Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa)

Points’ standings after 12 of 14 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Dennis Olsen (N/Konrad Motorsport), 230 points
2. Nick Yelloly (GB/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 215 points
3. Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing), 176 points

Rookie classification
1. Larry Ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 251 points
2. Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport), 205 points
3. Henric Skoog (S/raceunion Huber Racing), 138 points

Amateur classification
1. Wolfgang Triller (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa), 144 points
2. Carlos Rivas (L/BLACK FALCON), 98 points
3. Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa), 97 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: