you're reading...

Porsche CTSC Contender: Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR Enters Finale with Lead

Entering the final round of the 2017 IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge (CTSCC), the Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR leads the GS class of the road car-based racing series’ championship. In fact, the 2017 GT4-specification machine (the No. 28 RS1 entry) heads a 2016 GS-class spec variant (the No. 12 Bodymotion Racing car) with only the FOX Factory 120 remaining on the ten-race schedule. Making the final two-hours of competition that much more intriguing is that each car has one previous victory on the 2017 calendar. Porsche comes to the 2.54-mile long Road Atlanta track in Braselton, Georgia with the lead in the CTSCC manufacturer standings, the German marque finished in second-place in the standings in 2016.

In the hands of Dillon Machavern (Burlington, Vermont) and Dylan Murcott (Ancram, New York), the No. 28 RS1 Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR is 16 points ahead of the No. 12 Bodymotion Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport entry in the team championship proving IMSA’s balance of the two iterations has been successful. Machavern and Murcott have the strongest run of late, with the RS1 car having four second-place finishes in the last five races. Cameron Cassels (Canada) and Trent Hindman (Wayside, New Jersey) opened the year with a victory in the four-hour race at Daytona International Speedway in the No. 12 Bodymotion car that finished third in the championship in 2016. Bodymotion finished in second-place at the most recent round, a four-hour enduro at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca two positions ahead of RS1. RS1 is new to CTSCC in 2017 as is the MR version of the Porsche mid-engine Cayman entry.

Sharing over 80 percent of its components with the road-going Porsche Cayman GT4, the Clubsport was introduced into competition in 2016. At the end of the year, to make it compatible with the international GT4-class specifications, Manthey Racing (MR), an official partner of Porsche Motorsport, created an updated car with minor changes over the 2016 model. IMSA regulations grandfathered and balanced the 2016 Cayman GT4 Clubsport with the new car giving a continued venue for those cars to compete while bringing in GT4-spec machines where they will be solely allowed for the 2018 season.

To-date, Porsche has ten overall CTSCC podiums in 2017 – including the two victories – entering the final round on October 6. Six of the Porsche Motorsport-built cars are entered for Friday’s race. Three Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MRs are on the entry list with the No. 28 leading the way. The locally operated Team TGM No. 4 of Guy Cosmo (Palm Beach Gardens, Florida) and Hugh Plumb (Unionville, Pennsylvania) as well as the BGB Motorsports No. 38 of James Cox (Nokomis, Florida) and John Tecce (Gladwyne, Pennsylvania) make-up the other two 2017 cars.

Bodymotion – which was the first team to win with the Cayman GT4 Clubsport in 2016 at Sebring International Raceway and added a total of three of the four 2016 race wins for the car – champions the 2016 car with the pair of CJ Wilson Racing run machines filling-out the German marque’s entries. The Nos. 33 and 35 are driven by Till Bechtolsheimer (New York City, New York)/ Marc Miller (Grand Rapids, Michigan) and Russell Ward (Seabrook, Texas)/ Damien Faulkner (Ireland), respectively. The No. 33 was second in Daytona and third at Lime Rock Park while the No. 35 has a season-best result of fourth at Sebring.

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: