you're reading...

Memorial Day Tradition: Porsche Customer Teams Triple for PWC SprintX at Lime Rock

The Memorial Day holiday has long been the traditional highpoint weekend for motorsports. The Indianapolis 500 will have its 102nd “Sweepstakes”, NASCAR will run its longest race, 600-miles at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Formula One will bask in the glory of the streets of Monaco and the Pirelli World Challenge (PWC) will run twin 60-minute races at Lime Rock Park. Nine Porsche customer programs have entered both SprintX Championship events at the Lakeville, Connecticut-area track, Rounds 5 and 6, scheduled for Monday, May 28. The three Porsche 911 GT3 Rs in the GT SX class and five Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MRs in the GTS SX category represent a tripling of Porsche Motorsport-built racers in North America’s foremost sprint championship for GT cars over the most recent round at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

The No. 24 Alegra Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R earned a third-place finish in the most recent SprintX round at VIRginia International Raceway (VIR) and a pair of podiums in the Sprint race at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP). The Tampa, Florida-based effort will again field Porsche factory ace Michael Christensen (Denmark) and Spencer Pumpelly (Atlanta, Georgia) in search of their first win in PWC. Pfaff Motorsports brings Scott Hargrove (Canada) and Wolf Henzler (Germany) to the battle on the 1.5-mile, seven-turn road course. The No. 96 Porsche 911 GT3 R earned second-place in both Rounds 3 and 4 at VIR and opened the season with two victories for Hargrove on the St, Petersburg, Florida street course. Black Swan Racing, which announced its entry for the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June last week, will campaign the No. 54 911 GT3 R in SprintX with team principal/driver Tim Pappas (Boston, Massachusetts) and Jeroen Bleekemolen (Belgium) at Lime Rock.

In the GTS SX class for GT4-spec machines, four Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MRs will attempt to replicate the pair of 2017 victories earned by the mid-engine Porsche. Pfaff Motorsports continues to contest every round in both the Sprint and SprintX championships with the No. 13 being shared by Canadians Orey Fidani and Porsche Young Driver Academy graduate Kyle Marcelli. NOLAsport has a pair of Texans in the No. 47 with Matt Travis, of The Woodlands, and Jason Hart, Flower Mound, behind the wheel. The NOLAsport operation also brings the No. 32 to the Lime Rock “Bullring” with Keith Jensen (Dorado, Puerto Rico) and a second driver to be named. Sharing the No. 21 Muehlner Motorsports America Cayman will be Efrin Castro (Palisades Park, New Jersey) and Moritz Kranz (Germany). TRG’s familiar blue and yellow livery again adorns the No. 66 Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR of Derek DeBoer (Ashland, Oregon) and Sean Gibbons (Argyle, Texas) in Connecticut.

The unique nature of Lime Rock’s agreement with the community will keep the engines quiet on Sunday requiring both Rounds 5 and 6 of the ten-round championship within a championship to be run on Memorial Day, Monday, May 28. It is the only time that both races of both classes run on a single day. Practice and qualifying for both will be held on Friday while practice alone will be run on Saturday.

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: