you're reading...

Thomas Preining wins and now leads the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland, championship

The Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland has a new championship leader: Thanks to his fifth win of the season, Porsche Junior Thomas Preining (BWT Lechner Racing) now leads the overall standings after eight races. The Austrian won Sunday’s race at the Nürburgring, beating his closest rival Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing). Although the two Lechner drivers are tied for points, Preining ranks first thanks to his higher number of wins. “Victory and now points’ leader – I couldn’t be happier. My start was great and I managed to pull clear of the field,” said Preining. After Jaap van Lagen (Förch Racing) won Saturday’s race, the Dutchman finished round eight in third. 

This weekend, the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland celebrated its premiere as support to the AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix. As part of the festival for historic vehicles, a total of 27 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup racers rolled onto the grid. In sunshine and a temperature of 24-degrees Celsius, Preining led the field of 485-hp nine-elevens into the race. From the second grid spot, Ammermüller made an excellent start, however the driver from Linz was even faster and defended his lead. As the race progressed, the pair broke away from their competitors. Ammermüller waited for the 20-year-old to make a mistake, however Preining held his ground to score a lights-to-flag victory after 16 laps. Seasoned Porsche specialist Ammermüller swept over the line in second, 1.5 seconds behind. “Unfortunately I didn’t manage to get past Thomas Preining at the start and during the race there was no chance to make a serious attack,” said Ammermüller.

Van Lagen, the winner of the previous day’s race, started from third on the grid and defended his position to the flag. “Two podiums on one weekend is a super result. I attempted to stick to Michael Ammermüller’s bumper but there was no chance. The important thing was that I managed to hold my own against Larry ten Voorde,” declared the Förch driver. Dutchman Larry ten Voorde (Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) finished fourth on the storied circuit in the Eifel, with fifth place going to the best rookie, Dylan Pereira (Lechner Racing) from Luxembourg.

Sixth place was occupied by Pereira’s teammate Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer from France. Porsche veteran Robert Lukas (Förch Racing) from Poland secured seventh ahead of his compatriot Igor Walilko (Raceunion). The best amateur driver of the day was Carlos Rivas (L/Black Falcon Team TMD Friction) ahead of Stefan Rehkopf (D/Cito Pretiosa). Germany’s Jörn Schmidt-Staade (Cito Pretiosa) saw the flag on the 4.638-kilometre racetrack as third in the amateur class.

The famous Porsche collector Magnus Walker and motorsport legend Derek Bell visited the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland as special guests. The five-time Le Mans winner waved the chequered flag on Sunday and handed the winner’s trophy to Preining. Also presenting the trophies on the podium were the AvD sports president and former DTM champion Volker Strycek as well as Michael Dreiser, the Head of Porsche’s one-make cup series.

After eight races, Preining now leads the championship of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. Scoring five wins, the youngster earned 159 points. Despite being tied for points, Ammermüller has only two wins to his credit and therefore ranks second. Ten Voorde lies third with 106 points. Leading the rookie class is Pereira with 134 points. With 172 points, Schmidt-Staade is the leader of the amateur classification.

The next double-header of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland will be contested as support to the ADAC GT Masters. From 17-19 August, the national one-make cup travels to the Circuit Park Zandvoort on the Dutch North Sea coast. These two rounds will be home races for ten Voorde (Boekelo) and van Lagen from Ede.

Result race 8:
1. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing)
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
3. Jaap van Lagen (NL/Förch Racing)
4. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
5. Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing)
6. Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer (F/Lechner Racing)
7. Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing)
8. Igor Walilko (PL/Raceunion)
9. Henric Skoog (S/Raceunion)
10. Gustav Malja (S/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)

Points standings after 8 of 14 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing), 159 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 159 points
3. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 106 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: