you're reading...

Andlauer achieves first Porsche Supercup win, title decision must wait for final race

The decision in the fight for the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup title has to wait for the final race on Sunday. In Mexico City, Porsche Junior Julien Andlauer (martinet by ALMERAS) celebrated his first win in the international one-make cup on Saturday. “To climb to the very top of the podium after a Supercup race has been my goal over the entire year. So I’m over the moon. I had an almost perfect start and was able to gradually pull clear of my pursuers,” said Andlauer. The Frenchman beat Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing) and Porsche Junior Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing). With this, Ammermüller retains his lead in the series with 137 points. Nine points behind him sits Nick Yelloly (GB/Fach Auto Tech). Preining also has an outside chance of clinching the title. Collecting 121 points over the season, he ranks third. At the tenth round on Sunday, 20 points are up for grabs. 

Ammermüller took up the race from pole position under cloudy skies and temperatures of 18 degrees Celsius. The German, however, could not defend his front spot at the start: First, Andlauer passed him on the start-finish straight with his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, then after a jump start Larry ten Voorde (Team Project 1) overtook the duo in the first corner and snatched the lead. The Dutchman led the field to the flag after 16 laps, however he received a ten-second penalty. This handed a clear win to Andlauer on the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez. Behind the 19 year old, spectators were treated to some gripping fights for positions: Ammermüller was running second, however Preining put his teammate under increasing pressure over the course of the race. The 32-year-old seasoned specialist fended off repeated attacks from Preining and defended his second place. “It was a difficult race and my aim was to bring home as many points as possible. A collision would have been devastating for my title chances. Tomorrow I want to be crowned champion for the second time in a row,” said Ammermüller.

Preining saw the flag in third place. While the Austrian was battling for second, his rivals gradually caught up. Preining drove a flawless race to secure his fifth podium finish of the season. “That was a crazy race with lots of duels. I just couldn’t find a way past Michael, so I had to settle for third place,” said 20-year-old Preining. Yelloly crossed the finish line in fourth place. The Briton put in a spirited duel against his Dutch teammate Jaap van Lagen. In the penultimate lap, Yelloly made the decisive move and overtook him. Van Lagen finished the race in fifth position.

Sixth place went to Florian Latorre (martinet by ALMERAS) making the Frenchman the best rookie on the 4.304 kilometre circuit. Ten Voorde saw the chequered flag in seventh ahead of Italy’s Mattia Drudi (Dinamic Motorsport). Victory in the ProAm classification went to Roar Lindland (N/Lechner Racing Middle East) ahead of Nicolas Misslin (F/Pierre martinet by ALMERAS) and Mark Radcliffe (GB/IDL Racing).

In the team classification, the championship title is already decided: Before the last round, BWT Lechner Racing holds an unassailable lead. The team owned by Walter Lechner earned 258 points from the first nine rounds. The title fight in the rookie classification is still open. First in the standings is Latorre with an eleven-point lead over ten Voorde. The decision in the ProAm class will also fall on Sunday: Lindland leads with seven wins and with an eight-point gap to Misslin.

Round ten of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup will also be contested in Mexico City. The race starts on Sunday at 10.15 local time.

Mexico City, race 9 of 10
1. Julien Andlauer (F/martinet by ALMERAS)
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
3. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing)
4. Nick Yelloly (GB/Fach Auto Tech)
5. Jaap van Lagen (NL/Fach Auto Tech)
6. Florian Latorre (F/martinet by ALMERAS)
7. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Project 1)
8. Mattia Drudi (I/Dinamic Motorsport)
9. Gustav Malja (S/Team Project 1)
10. Dylan Pereira (L/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing)

Points standings after 9 of 10 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 137 points
2. Nick Yelloly (GB/Fach Auto Tech), 128 points
3. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing), 121 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: