you're reading...

Larry ten Voorde wins Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season opener at Hockenheim

Larry ten Voorde (Overdrive Racing by Huber) has won the first race of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season. At Saturday’s event, the Dutchman took the flag in first place ahead of his compatriot Jaap van Lagen (Förch Racing) and Porsche-Junior Jaxon Evans (NZ/Team Project 1 – JBR). On the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg, ten Voorde kicked off the 30th anniversary season of the one-make cup with a lights-to-flag victory. “Starting the season with a victory is awesome. Still, the race was hard work. I couldn’t take the racing line in the first laps because of the wet track surface, so it required a great deal of skill,” said ten Voorde.

Rain during the morning had made the asphalt wet in some sections of the racetrack. Nevertheless, almost all of the 30 drivers took off into the race on slicks under cloudy skies and with a temperature of eight degrees Celsius. Right from the start, ten Voorde underlined his aspirations to win and immediately pulled clear of the field in his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. Two safety car phases, however, bunched the field together again, but the 22-year-old kept his cool at the restarts and took the flag 1.8 seconds ahead of van Lagen. The Förch-Pilot crossed the finish line in second after beating Porsche-Junior Evans in a duel. “The asphalt of my grid spot was still wet and cold, so my tyres weren’t at the ideal temperature at the start of the race,” explained van Lagen. “Still, I’m very pleased with my race.”

For Evans, this was his first race in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. The youngster from New Zealand initially swept past van Lagen at the start to sit in second place. However, van Lagen then reclaimed the spot in the hairpin at the end of Parabolica. “To finish third at my debut race in the Carrera Cup is a super start to the season. I’m not really familiar with wet asphalt in Australia, so I found the first laps a bit tricky and I found myself in the run-off zone in lap one. But the track dried up quickly soon after,” stated Evans. Fourth place went to Igor Walilko (PL/Overdrive Racing by Huber) ahead of his Swedish teammate Henric Skoog.

Berkay Besler (Car Collection Motorsport) claimed position six on the storied 4.574-kilometre racetrack, making the 20-year-old Turk the best driver in the so-called Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland Talent Pool – a support programme for young drivers in the one-make cup. Finishing behind the current champion of the Porsche Sports Cup were Tim Zimmermann (D/Black Falcon) and Gustav Malja (S/Förch Racing).

Porsche-Junior Julien Andlauer (BWT Lechner Racing) was disappointed with his first performance of the 2019 season. The Frenchman started from position twelve and ultimately lost one place at the flag. “To be honest, that race was pretty depressing. I managed to make up some places after the start, but I got entangled in another competitor’s collision, which threw me back down the field. Obviously I’m not happy with this result,” said Andlauer.

Victory in the amateur category went to Germany’s Stefan Rehkopf (Huber Racing), beating Carlos Rivas (L/Black Falcon Team Textar) and Matthias Jeserich (D/CARTECH Motorsport by Nigrin) on the Hockenheim circuit.

Sam Fane experienced the race live. The British influencer has his own YouTube channel “Seen Through Glass” with over 420,000 subscribers. Fane got a glimpse behind the scenes of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland and documented his day for his followers.

Race two of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland will also be contested at the Hockenheimring, with ten Voorde again starting from pole position. The race takes off on Sunday at 11.30 hours as part of the DTM weekend.

Result race 1:
1. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Overdrive Racing by Huber)
2. Jaap van Lagen (NL/FÖRCH Racing)
3. Jaxon Evans (NZ/Team Project 1 – JBR)
4. Igor Walilko (PL/Overdrive Racing by Huber)
5. Henric Skoog (S/Overdrive Racing by Huber)
6. Berkay Besler (TR/Car Collection Motorsport)
7. Tim Zimmermann (D/Black Falcon)
8. Gustav Malja (S/FÖRCH Racing)
9. Luca Rettenbacher (A/MSG/HRT Motorsport)
10. Sandro Kaibach (D/MSG/HRT Motorsport)

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: