//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Going Back to California: Porsche Customer Teams Take SRO Machines to Sonoma

For the third time this season, the Porsche customer teams involved in the SRO will travel to California to compete. Over the weekend of June 7 – 9, Sonoma Raceway will see the SRO Blancpain GT World Challenge America and both the Pirelli GT4 America Sprint and SprintX Championships programs contend for victories on the 2.52-mile, 12-turn road course in the “wine country” of California. Previous trips to “The Golden State” were the SRO Intercontinental GT Challenge round at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca and the Grand Prix of Long Beach. A total of 14 Porsche-built race cars are entered across the three series.

GT World Challenge America
Six Porsche 911 GT3 R racers are on the entry list for the pair of 90-minute GT World Challenge events. The two-driver format GT3-spec races will be held on Saturday and Sunday with three combinations each in the Pro and Pro-Am categories. Season-regulars Alegra Motorsports maintains its two Pro class cars with the No. 22 being piloted by Porsche Young Driver Academy graduates Daniel Morad (Canada) and Michael De Quesada (Tampa, Florida). German Porsche hot shoes Wolf Henzler and Marco Holzer wheel the No. 24 for the Tampa, Florida-based team.

Wright Motorsports continues its Pro championship pursuit with the No. 58 Porsche Consulting Porsche 911 GT3 R and the Pro-Am chase with the No. 91 Henry Rifle machine. North America’s only Porsche factory driver Patrick Long (Manhattan Beach, California) and Porsche Selected Driver Scott Hargrove (Canada) share the all-pro No. 58 while Anthony Imperato (Brooklyn, New York) and Porsche Young Profession Matt Campbell (Australia) will be in the No. 91.

K2R Motorsports continues its rookie season with Kevin Millstein and Indy car veteran Alex Barron sharing the No. 38 in the Pro-Am class. GMG Racing will make its return to Porsche GT3 racing at Sonoma with team owner James Sofronas being joined by Porsche “works” driver Dirk Werner (Germany) in the No. 14 Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Race 1 of the GT World Challenge America will take the green flag at 2:10 p.m. Pacific Time (PT)/ 5:10 p.m. ET on Saturday, June 8. The second 90-minute race will start at 11:15 a.m. PT/2:15 p.m. ET on Sunday, June 9.

Pirelli GT4 America Sprint
Four Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport race cars will take to the grid in the two 50-minute, single driver Pirelli GT4 America Sprint Championship races at Sonoma. Races will be run Saturday, June 8 at 12:10 p.m. PT/3:10 p.m. ET and Sunday, June 9 at 8:40 a.m. PT/11:40 a.m. ET.

The chief protagonists for Porsche in the GT4 Sprint Championship will be multi-time race winner Spencer Pumpelly (Atlanta, Georgia) in the No. 66 TRG 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport and Alan Brynjolfsson in the Park Place Motorsports Porsche. GMG Racing will have Jason Bell behind the wheel of the No. 2 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport in the Sprint races while CRP Racing brings Matt Brabham into their No. 20.

Pirelli GT4 America SprintX
While the Pirelli GT4 America SprintX Championship runs identical cars to the Sprint series, the two races are 60-minutes in length and have two drivers assigned to each car. Races will be run at 4:50 p.m. PT/7:50 p.m. ET on Saturday and 2:30 p.m. PT/5:30 p.m. ET on Sunday.

Of the four Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport racers entered in the SprintX, TRG is the only team with entries in both GT4-spec series events. The local team has brought a pair of the mid-engined Porsche race car down the road from its Petaluma-based race shop with experienced driver Derek DeBoer and James Rappaport sharing the No. 17. The Kevin Buckler-owned program also has Chris Bellomo and Kevin Woods in the traditionally numbered No. 67 TRG machine.

NOLASPORT has already proven its expertise with multiple wins in the 2019 championship and has two entries to add to the tally at Sonoma. Mike Vess and John Capestro-Dubets will spilt driving duties in the No. 46 while Matt Travis and Jason Hart will look for additional trips to the top step of the podium in the No. 47.

Source. Porsche

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Archives

%d bloggers like this: