you're reading...

Porsche Sprint Trophy Thailand GT4 champion crowned in Thailand Super Series Buriram finale

In the final round of the 2019 Thailand Super Series at the Chang International Circuit, Buriram, Morseng Racing Team’s Chayapon Yotha was crowned the Porsche Sprint Trophy Thailand GT4 champion, as Porsche entries impressed across the classes.

In the opening Porsche Sprint Trophy Thailand GT4 race, Pasu Liptapanlop made an excellent start on board the #46 AAS Motorsport Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport (981), moving from second into the lead, passing team-mate Nattachak Hanjitkasem.

The #66 driver was then overtaken by championship leader Yotha in the #14 Morseng Racing Team Porsche. There was no stopping Liptapanlop though who flew to his second GT4 win of the 2019 campaign, as Yotha finished second ahead of Hanjitkasem to claim the 2019 Porsche Sprint Trophy Thailand GT4 title.

After falling from first to third in the second GT4 race, Hanjitkasem reeled Yotha back in for second, moving ahead with 10 laps to go. Up front, Liptapanlop was battling for the overall lead again, but suffered damage from contact and dropped behind his team-mate on the final lap.

That saw Hanjitkasem take his first GT4 victory, and with it second in the championship, ahead of Liptapanlop and Yotha.

Elsewhere, Mongkol Motorsports were on the top step once again in the GTM class, with Sathienthirakul brothers Munkong and Blancpain GT World Challenge Asia winner Tanart driving to victory in the second race, having finished third in the opener on board the #15 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup (Type 991).

YK Motorsports by SUNOCO’s Dechathorn Phuakkarawut finished both races an impressive fourth overall in GTM on board the #9 machine, confirming him as the 2019 Am vice-champion.

After a successful 2019 season, Porsche Motorsport Asia Pacific customers will return to the Thailand Super Series and the Porsche Sprint Trophy Thailand in 2020, for which entries will open shortly.

Alexandre Gibot, Head of Porsche Motorsport Asia Pacific: “It has been a hugely successful first Porsche Sprint Trophy Thailand season for Porsche Motorsport Asia Pacific customers in the Thailand Super Series this year. Congratulations to Chayapon Yotha on winning the championship, the competition was very closely matched and provided superb racing all year long. We’re looking forward to 2020 already, which will provide even more excitement.”

Source. Porsche/Photo. Thailand Super Series


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: