you're reading...

Thomas Preining wins at Hockenheim and is crowned Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland champion

The fight for the championship in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland has been decided: Thanks to his ninth win of the season at the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg, Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing) claimed the title of the national one-make cup. With 254 points, the Porsche Junior held an unassailable lead. “After my disappointing start to the season at Oschersleben I almost gave up on the championship. Now I’m champion. That makes me incredibly proud. I bet I’m the happiest person in the paddock this weekend,” said Preining, with a wide grin. Behind the youngster, Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing) achieved second place at Saturday’s race. Sweden’s Gustav Malja (Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) finished third.

Right from the start, Preining dominated at the front of the field with his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. Taking off from pole position, the Linz racer immediately took the inside line and defended himself against Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing). Although Preining initially managed to build a gap to the field, a safety car had to be deployed so that a vehicle could be salvaged. After the restart in the sixth lap, the Lechner driver again pulled clear and crossed the finish line in first place after 16 laps. Behind the young racing driver from Austria, fights for positions ensued. Ammermüller in third put Pereira under pressure and grabbed his chance in the hairpin in lap nine. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) also made the most of the situation to get past the Luxembourger. However while doing this, the Project 1 driver touched Pereira’s 911 and received a drive-through penalty. Ammermüller finished on second place three seconds behind Preining. “I had a minor collision in the first corner and at first I didn’t have the speed. It got better during the race, but I couldn’t do better than second place today,” said the 32-year-old Ammermüller.

Malja had a special reason to rejoice. The 22-year-old rookie celebrated his first podium result in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland on the 4.574 kilometre circuit. “I started from fifth on the grid and to avoid a crash I didn’t want to risk too much in the hotly contested midfield. This strategy paid off,” said Malja. Fourth place went to Toni Wolf (D/Car Collection Motorsport), with Pereira on fifth ahead of Tim Zimmermann (D/Black Falcon Team TMD Friction). Zaid Ashkanani (MRS GT-Racing) from Kuwait took the chequered flag in seventh. Poland’s Igor Walilko driving for the Raceunion team secured eighth.

In addition to the championship title, another trophy was awarded on Saturday: Jörn Schmidt-Staade (Cito Pretiosa) claimed an early title in the amateur class. The German concluded the race second in his class. First place in the race went to Carlos Rivas (Black Falcon Team TMD Friction) from Luxembourg. Occupying the third podium step was guest starter Matthias Jeserich (D/ Team CARTECH Motorsport by Nigrin).

Several guests visited the race this weekend: the Vice President Motorsport and GT Cars Dr Frank-Steffen Walliser and Michael Dreiser, the Manager Motorsport One-Make Series. Both gentlemen witnessed round 13 of the national one-make cup firsthand and presented the trophies on the podium. Another guest at Hockenheim was the YouTuber Luca (ConCrafter). The social media producer documented his impressions on his Instagram account @laserluca.

The newly-crowned champion Preining sits at the top of the overall standings with 254 points. Ammermüller follows in second with 222 points. The 21-year-old Dutchman ten Voorde ranks third with 154 points. On Sunday, the title for the rookie class is still to be decided. With 199 points to his credit in this category, Pereira holds the best chances. Walilko follows three points behind.
The last round of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland will also be contested on the Hockenheimring. Race 14 takes off on Sunday at 11:35 hrs CEST.

Result race 13:
1. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing)
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
3. Gustav Malja (S/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
4. Toni Wolf (D/Car Collection Motorsport)
5. Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing)
6. Tim Zimmermann (D/Black Falcon Team TMD Friction)
7. Zaid Ashkanani (KWT/MRS GT-Racing)
8. Igor Walilko (PL/Raceunion)
9. Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing)
10. Marius Nakken (N/MRS GT-Racing)

Points standings after 13 of 14 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing), 254 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 222 points
3. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 154 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: