you're reading...

New champion Thomas Preining scores tenth win of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season

Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing) has concluded the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season perfectly: After the Porsche Junior was crowned champion thanks to his victory at Saturday’s race, Preining followed up with another win at round 14 on Sunday. “Even though I won the title on Saturday, I still really wanted to be first in the final race. Ten race wins in one season is simply fantastic,” said Preining. Securing ten victories from 14 races, Preining matched the record set by the current Porsche works driver Sven Müller, who claimed the title of the national one-make cup series in 2016. At the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg, Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing) crossed the finish line second. Third place went to Larry ten Voorde (Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) from the Netherlands.

Taking up the race from pole position in his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, Preining refused to give up the lead spot over the entire distance. Just as the racing driver from Linz had built up a one-second advantage on the storied German racetrack, two vehicles collided in the midfield, resulting in the race being interrupted while the racetrack was cleared. After the restart, Ammermüller stuck close to the bumper of Preining’s 911. However, the German driver found no way past the Austrian to secure the lead spot. After 13 laps, 20-year-old Preining swept over the finish line as the winner 0.4 seconds ahead of Ammermüller. For the youngster, this marked his tenth victory in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. “Thomas Preining was so fast today that there was never really a chance for me to overtake him. After the restart I managed to put on the pressure, but unfortunately the race was over shortly afterwards,” said Ammermüller.

Larry ten Voorde was delighted with his sixth podium result. The 21-year-old Project 1 driver took up the race from the seventh grid spot and worked his way up to fourth. In the final lap, he then overtook Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing). “Saturday didn’t really come together for me, so I’m particularly pleased about my podium result at the last race of the season. During the interruption I stayed focussed and my overtaking manoeuvre in the last lap was the reward for this,” stated ten Voorde. Pereira had reason to celebrate after clinching fourth place on the 4.574-kilometre racetrack: With 224 points to his credit, the 21-year-old secured the title in the rookie class. Jaap van Lagen (Förch Racing) from the Netherlands crossed the finish line on fifth place.

Sixth place was occupied by the seasoned Porsche specialist Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing) ahead of his Polish compatriot Igor Walilko (Raceunion). Toni Wolf (D/Car Collection Motorsport) came eight. The top spot in the amateur class went to Jörn Schmidt-Staade (Cito Pretiosa). The German had already celebrated his title win on Saturday. At Sunday’s race, the two guest drivers Matthias Jeserich (D/Team CARTECH Motorsport by Nigrin) and Bertram Hornung (D/Raceunion) claimed positions two and three in this category.

The trophies were presented by special guests at the podium ceremony: Dr Frank-Steffen Walliser (Vice President Motorsport and GT Cars), Michael Dreiser (Manager Motorsport One-Make Cups) and Alexander Pollich (Managing Director of Porsche Deutschland GmbH). In addition, three popular Instagram influencers witnessed the final round of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland live. The twins Jan and Jens Weiss operate the account @twins.aesthetics, with “Mister Central Germany 2016/17” Fabian Fröhlich running his Instagram account @fabian_froehlich.

Preining took home the championship trophy with 279 points. Ammermüller finished the season as vice champion with 242 points. Third place went to ten Voorde. Over the 14 races, the driver from Boekelo in the Netherlands earned 170 points.

Result race 14:
1. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing)
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
3. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
4. Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing)
5. was not awarded
6. Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing)
7. Igor Walilko (PL/Raceunion)
8. Toni Wolf (D/Car Collection Motorsport)
9. Gustav Malja (S/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
10. Tim Zimmermann (D/Black Falcon Team TMD Friction)

Points standings after 14 of 14 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing), 279 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 242 points
3. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 170 points

Rookie classification
1. Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing), 224 points
2. Igor Walilko (PL/Raceunion), 216 points
3. Tim Zimmermann (D/Black Falcon Team TMD Friction), 191 points

Amateur classification
1. Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa), 253 points
2. Carlos Rivas (L/Black Falcon Team TMD Friction), 223 points
3. Stefan Rehkopf (D/Cito Pretiosa), 203 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: